Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 9/10: birthday week!

• I celebrated my birthday on Friday!! I took a long weekend and it was perfect. Friday Matt and I saw IT (which was fab) and yesterday we toured an animal sanctuary super close to us!

• Did you hear about the newly discovered Kurt Vonnegut story? You can read it at the link!

• Thursday we learned one of our sister offices in Orlando was closing because of the hurricane. I was talking with one of the girls and she was telling me the horrors of their city right now: no water to be found, absolutely no gas at any of the gas stations. Friday Matt and I stopped by his grandparents’ (they have a home on Marco Island) and it’s just a very scary situation for anyone down there right now.

MISS SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Back in January I did a week-long series where I took a look at the 2017 novels from the first half of the year that I couldn’t wait to read. This week I took a look at the novels for the rest of the year that sound fantastic: historical fiction, mystery/suspense, sci-fi/fantasy, and contemporary.

Where the Wild Cherries Grow by Laura Madeleine
I shrieked when I opened this package. Laura’s debut, The Confectioner’s Tale was so, so good, you guys. Her upcoming novel, due in February, takes place just after WWI, when Emeline is rife with grief – rumors spread throughout town that she’s lost her mind, particularly when she makes the rash decision to board a train for France and soon finds herself in a fishing village where she’s taken in by a woman and her 19-year-old son. Though she’s enchanted by her new life, Emeline can’t be free from her past as whispers soon find their way to her new home. A dark past and a forbidden romance, you guys know I am SO down with this one!! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 9/10: birthday week!

Leave a Reply

