Uncategorized

6 fantasy novels that have been on my shelf for WAY too long!

I know I’m not the only one who has some books that have been collecting dust for an embarrassingly long time! Today I wanted to share six fantasy & sci-fi novels that found their way to my shelves years ago that I still haven’t read – eek!

(Also, apparently all fantasy novels have blue covers.)

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Confession time: when I bought this book it was the only one in the series. …now there are seven books planned (though the fourth book is due out next year so I guess this isn’t too bad, right???) Part Robin Hood, part Ocean’s Eleven, guys. Locke Lamora is about an orphan who discovers a talent for thievery and is brought into a family of sorts, con men and tricksters known as the Gentlemen Bastards. There’s a war for the criminal underworld and Locke slowly comes to realize he’s being used as a pawn. So, so many friends and bloggers I adore absolutely love this series and I have no idea why I haven’t taken the plunge yet!

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Back in December, I did a two part post highlight series I wanted to read over the winter. Part one featured Adult titles and part two was devoted to YA series. The Chaos Walking trilogy was featured on that list…and I still haven’t managed to make time for it. The sad thing is I own all three books: the first I won in a giveaway, the other two I found on clearance for $1 each!) so there’s really no excuse here – especially when I’ve heard all the soul-crushing, gut-punching, over-the-moon praise these books have received.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
A cyborg Cinderella, need I say more?!

Sidekicked by John David Anderson
I won a copy of Sidekicked in a giveaway a few years ago and it has my name written all over it! A Middle Grade novel about a secret organization that trains superhero sidekicks. Andrew is one of those sidekicks, juggling his powers with trying to fit in in Middle School. But when a supervillain – long thought dead – returns, superheroes begin dropping, leaving the sidekicks to take a stand…and Drew’s secret identity threatens to be revealed. Book two, Minion takes the villains’ perspective!!

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
Okay, okay, I KNOW. This is by far the most embarrassing one on this list (and another series I featured in the post of YA series I wanted to read last winter). Somehow I skipped right over this series when I was younger, which is definitely a shame since I have a feeling I would have been ALL over these books! On one of our very first dates, Matt – who is NOT a reader – actually bought all three books for me because he loved them so much…years later they remain unread. I’ve picked up the first one a handful of times throughout the years, but never made it far before an ARC gets in the way. Pullman has a new novel coming out soon so I’d like to finally get through these books!

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
I’m a big fan of huge, sweeping epics. I love sinking into a novel and completely immersing myself in its world. I was a bookseller when Game of Thrones premiered and suddenly nonreaders and people unfamiliar with the series were flocking to our store hoping to grab copies – and find similar titles. One series that developed a following was The Kingkiller Chronicle and though I had handsold it to countless customers, I have yet to read it for myself. A young man grows to become the world’s most notorious wizard. Yep, totally a Leah read!

6 thoughts on “6 fantasy novels that have been on my shelf for WAY too long!

  1. Ooph, I’m in the same boat when it comes to the Lies of Locke Lamora, The Knife of Never Letting Go, and The Name of the Wind. Someday…

    I have read Sidekicked, Cinder, and The Golden Compass though. Sidekicked was pretty meh for me. Loved the concept but the execution lacked…heart? Cinder was fun but I didn’t love it enough to read the rest of the series. The Golden Compass is amazing. I definitely think you’d like that series. It’s so much deeper than it first appears and I think you’ll love the magic/animals.

Leave a Reply

