Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 8/13

• This week was Bay’s adoptionversary!! Two years down, a lifetime to go ♥

• Anyone else a leftie? Today is International Lefthanders Day!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Emma in the Night is Wendy Walker’s latest, her follow-up to last year’s All is Not Forgotten (which I enjoyed! Emma is just as engrossing and had me flipping the pages, eager to find out the ending. ..though I have to admit, the Big Reveal left me disappointed. I’m definitely in the minority though!

Heidi Chiavaroli’s debut (!!!) Freedom’s Ring was fantastic and I didn’t want it to end! Told in two voices, this one bounces between just about the Boston Marathon bombing and the Revolutionary War and I was HOOKED y’all. Loved this one!


The Vengeance of Mothers by Jim Fergus
When I was a bookseller, One Thousand White Women was still massively popular, despite having first been published in 1998. I had no idea there was going to be a sequel until it showed up at my door! I’ve never read the first, though you all know I’m a huge historical fiction fan, but I’m curious about this one. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Visitors by Catherine Burns
A decaying house. A 50-year-old spinster who still sleeps with teddy bears. Her brother’s horrifying secret in the basement. This sounds creepy and atmospheric and I am ALL about disturbing families – this sounds like a perfect fall read! Thank you, Gallery!

Prince in Disguise by Stephanie Kate Strohm
Things were bad enough for Dylan when she was just the younger sister of a former Miss Mississippi. But now Dusty has won the hand of a handsome Scot on a reality show, Prince in Disguise, and Dylan realizes her troubles have only just begun. Scotland, reality tv, a prince – tell me this isn’t a total guilty pleasure read!! I can’t wait to dive in! Thank you, Disney-Hyperion!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 8/13

Leave a Reply

