Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 8/6

• It’s been way too cold for me this week, but both pups are more than happy to go for extra long walks when it’s in the 50s! If you follow me on IG, I shared a photo of the aftermath in my stories (spoiler: naps and a mama ready to get some blogging done!)

• So I totally missed it earlier in the week, but the blog is now 6 years old!

• I recently scored a massive zucchini from an awesome friend and I have a feeling today will be spent in the kitchen! I have my heart set on some zucchini bread ♥

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Impossible Views of the World by Lucy Ives sounded like a book written for me: from its museum setting to a discovered ancient map, I was SO ready to love this one. Unfortunately, I had to force myself to finish. The writing was almost pretentious, using lots of big, fancy words and similes when a simple, straightforward sentence would work. There wasn’t so much a fun mystery as there was LOTS of pining after a coworker and ranting about a soon-to-be- ex-husband. I had higher hopes for this one.

Emily Colin’s The Dream Keeper’s Daughter was another disappointment, made even worse by the fact that I was so, so into it for the majority of the novel. It wasn’t until the end that it all fell apart. A woman sees her boyfriend vanish right before her eyes, leaving her to raise their baby on her own. Eight years later she believes she gets a phone call from him. Where has he been this whole time? In the past. Yep, this one features time travel! 1816 Barbados, to be exact, on the eve of a slave revolt.

I also posted my July recap.

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
I’ve been seeing a ton of buzz for this one! Y’all know I love me a good psychological thriller, so I’m looking forward to this one! I’m kind of loving that the blurb gives away so little info; I truly have no idea what to expect. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel
I’ve shared my dirty little secret before, right? I’ve never read a Jane Austen novel. Nope, not a single one. HOWEVER, I love retellings of her books! This one is a modern day, New Adult retelling of Persuasion! Count me in! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 8/6

  1. I can’t believe you’ve never read a Jane Austen novel! I know they aren’t for everyone but so much snark and angst. I definitely want to check out The One That Got Away – I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a Persuasion adaptation before,

Leave a Reply

