Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/30

#twinning, y’all. The second I saw this shirt I knew I needed to have it. I already have a Pittie shirt for Bay, I couldn’t pass up a little Boston top! Modcloth still has this shirt on sale for $29!

• Are you officially an adult when you get excited over ordering a new blender? A few months ago Matt’s parents bought a new one and gave us theirs – a pretty fancy, high-tech model and we were pumped! I haven’t had a chance to use it until earlier this month when I decided to make vegan ice cream for a 4th of July picnic…and discovered there was a piece missing. PERFECT time to find out, right?? Ha, I was so upset over it that Matt ended up ordering a new one (♥ Amazon Prime, we love you ♥) and it’s here and I’ve been Pinteresting like crazy and pouring over my favorite foodie blogs!

• Earlier this week we had a #HistoricalFix chat and this time our theme was vacation destinations! SO, so fun – and we ended up choosing our next #BookClubFix read: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee!! I’m super excited for this one – a bunch of people had fantastic things to say about it!! We’re shooting for October, but we’ll release all the details soon!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Eve Chase wrote my favorite book of 2016 and she’s back with The Wildling Sisters. Another creepy, Gothic manor and a past-present storyline. I think Eve writes books specifically for me, because, seriously, her novels are pretty much a checklist of everything I love. Another great read by an author who’s firmly planted among my all-time favorites!

And then there’s Martin Wilson’s We Now Return to Regular Life…I got a little carried away here. I think this might be my favorite read of the year so far – and I hadn’t even heard of the book until it showed up at my door! A boy was kidnapped when he was 11 and is discovered three years later, but this book is told through the eyes of his older sister and his former best friend, the boy who was with him That Day. I could talk about this one for ages, it was that phenomenal.

The Breathless by Tara Goedjen
While I might not be a fan of cold weather, I love me some cold weather reads, those moody, dark books perfect for chilly nights. Plus I have FANTASTIC luck with Delacorte! A girl’s body is discovered on a beach and no one knows what really happened that night, other than the fact that her boyfriend hasn’t been seen since. But now he’s back and asking for her. Cage has no memories of the past year and, as strange at is sounds, Mae believes him. She found a notebook hidden among her sister’s belongings, a book full of terrifying, dangerous secrets…secrets that could possibly bring her sister back. Thank you, Delacorte Press!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/30

  1. That top is freaking adorable! I was already excited for Gentleman’s Guide, but now I’ve got two more books to add to my TBR. I love a good cold weather read, too :)

Leave a Reply

