Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/16

• Now that Nacho’s finished his last round of puppy shots, he gets to go on big boy walks ♥!

• This week the third (and for the time being, last) of my former coworkers/besties started working with me again! Even though the four of us don’t get to see each other much throughout the day, we Skype and e-mail and you can bet there have been – and will be! – lunch dates!

• The authors of my top two reads of last year (Black Rabbit Hall and Behind Closed Doors) have new books out this summer. I hate to say it but The Breakdown was a HUGE letdown, so I was more than a little hesitant to read The Wildling Sisters since I was so head over heels in love with Black Rabbit Hall. I’m almost finished and I’m thrilled to say it’s another great novel, though not quite as good as BRH. There’s another creepy house, another past/present story which feels more like a rehash of the book I fell in love with, but whatever. I’m enjoying it.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Just one review, the disappointing Girl on the Leeside by Kathleen Anne Kenney. The lush Irish countryside was downright breathtaking, but the main character (a woman nearing 30) completely ruined it for me. She was SO sheltered, so unbelievably naive and the romance that blossoms between her and a divorced American professor came off as creepy and gross.


We Now Return to Regular Life by Martin Wilson
An LBGT novel about a boy who returns home after being abducted three years earlier. This one seems heavy: between coming to terms with sexual orientation and the kidnapping/abuse/trauma, I have a feeling this will be a hard read, but I’m really looking forward to it and plan on diving into it next! Thank you, Dial books!

Impossible Views of the World by Lucy Ives
This was initially pitched to me as a grown-up version of From the Mixed-up files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler aaaaand that’s really all I needed to know! The author is a poet (this is her first novel) and early reviews all talk about how beautiful the writing is so I’m definitely intrigued!! Thank you, Penguin Press!

Girl in Snow by Daniya Kukafka
Guys, the author is 25 and is being hailed as the next Gillian Flynn. This book has been blurbed by Ruth Ware, Lee Child, and Owen King (which is basically a step away from Stephen King!). A high schooler is murdered and her death rocks a sleepy Colorado town. Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

Elizabeth and Zenobia by Jessica Miller
A creepy old mansion (you know I love those!), ghosts, and a terrifying secret all wrapped up into one awesome-sounding Middle Grade novel. Thank you, Amulet Books!

Leave a Reply

