Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/25

• A certain someone turned 3 months old this week! If you came to my house you would legit think we had a baby – teething rings, baby gates in pretty much every room/hallway, you name it. WELL. One night after work I was in the kitchen and heard Nacho up against the gate between the kitchen and dining room. (The gates aren’t an issue at all for Bay btw, she just hops right over them haha.) I didn’t think anything of it and went back to making food…only to hear a little thud behind me. So much for the baby gates! He’s able to hop onto both couches, climb up the stairs.. he’s growing too fast :(!

• I’ve been hearing about Sawbones for months now and finally decided to listen to an episode one night. I’m hooked! This podcast is hosted by a husband (the comic relief) and wife (a doctor) and they explore all kinds of odd and interesting medical bits from history. For more podcasty goodness, head over to my post from October where I discussed 4 podcasts I love!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? I honestly wasn’t sure what to think of Chloe Esposito’s Mad, the first in a contemporary/action/chick-lit series, but I was pleasantly surprised! Alvie has just been fired from her job and kicked out of her apartment by her roommates – as it happens, her twin sister Beth desperately needs to talk to her and invites her for a vacation at Beth’s Italian villa. What should be a fun, carefree holiday quickly spirals out of control once Alvie assumes Beth’s identity. A shocking body count and the mafia come into play too. Totally over-the-top and absurd, but this was fun.

Unfortunately the same can’t be said for The Breakdown. The latest from B.A. Paris was my most anticipated read of 2017! I loved Behind Closed Doors and couldn’t wait to get my hands on this one. …it was awful.

Indian Summer by Marcia Willett
A quiet English village and uncovered secrets that threaten to tear families apart. Does Marcia know me or what?? I have never heard of this author before (she has over 20 novels!) but that one sentence and the book’s slim size are definitely calling my name. Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

Hello, Sunshine by Laura Davis
Back in April I received an ARC of this one and the hardcover looks beautiful! While I wasn’t a huge fan of Eight Hundred Grapes, this new novel sounds REALLY intriguing: a lifestyle blogger with a hit YouTube cooking show and several bestsellers (and one gorgeous husband) seems to have it all. Until a secret is revealed. You know I love me some secrets!! Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

Single-Minded by Lisa Daily
Another novel I received as an ARC and another that sounds fantastic. The moment Alex met Michael in Kindergarten she began planning their wedding. Now at 28, the two are indeed married with a beautiful house and great careers. Then Michael drops a massive bombshell: he’s gay. This has beach read written all over it. Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

The House of Dreams by Kate Lord Brown
Bouncing between 2000 and the 1940s, this novel tells the story of a celebrated painter, a young journalist, the real Casablanca, and a rescue mission during WWII. All of this screams my name! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

The Diplomat’s Daughter by Karin Tanabe
In the months after Pearl Harbor, Emi – the daughter of a Japanese diplomat – finds herself in an internment camp in Texas. While there, she meets the son of German-born parents who were unfairly arrested, and soon a romance forms between the pair. Internment camps aren’t usually seen in WWII historical fiction and I’m especially curious about the secondary setting: Japanese-occupied Shanghai. There seems to be a LOT going on in this book (there’s also Emi’s first love, a Jewish man who goes through his own unspeakable horror during the war) but it sounds really engrossing and potentially heartbreaking. Thank you, Washington Square Press!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 6/25

Leave a Reply

