Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/11

He’s lucky he’s cute. This week Nacho (and Bay totally went along with it too, that traitor!) decided the best time to play is in the middle of the night. So, yeah, not a lot of sleeping has been happening for ANY of us ha.

• Remember when I mentioned one of my friends was hired by my company? WELL, later this month another will be starting too! We all used to work together and I can’t even begin to describe how excited I am that three of us will be together again. Another friend submitted a resume and I put in a good word for him with the Big Boss, so fingers crossed! We’re busy enough to where we’re mostly at our desks all day, so it doesn’t leave much room to actually see them, but you know, IMs and e-mails and lunch dates. Just the idea that my besties are a few feet away makes the day SO much better ♥

• Last April I shared a SUPER simple (and vegan!) recipe for a Thai cucumber noodle bowl. It’s still one of my go-tos and I love how customizable it is. Have some tofu on hand? Toss it in! Not a fan of chickpeas? Throw in peas or carrots instead! Matt’s grandparents winter in Florida and now that they’re home we got together for dinner. Everyone brought a dish and this was mine – I’m THRILLED to say it was a huge hit!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Gail Godwin’s Grief Cottage wasn’t the ghost story I thought it would be (the summary is VERY misleading), but it was such a richly detailed, broody, atmospheric novel that I didn’t mind one bit! This book is the definition of slow – don’t go in expecting action-packed scenes – but, again, I’m the kind of gal who loves sinking into a novel and going through the characters’ day-to-day lives. Bonus points for having an absolutely perfect cover, too!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a GoodReads Recommends post but this week I featured contemporary romance titles! A dog, an online friendship, and a fake girlfriend. All of these are calling my name.

Mabel Opal Pear and the Rules for Spying by Amanda Hosch
An aunt is arrested for leading a smuggling ring. Another aunt shows up demanding to see the family’s private museum. Mabel hasn’t seen her parents in days. Something’s definitely fishy and Mabel, armed with her self-written spy handbook, is determined to get to the bottom of it. Thank you, Capstone!

Zinnia and the Bees by Danielle Davis
You know things are bad when a colony of bees that mistake your hair for a hive is the least of your problems! Detention for yarn-bombing a statue – on the last day of school, a brother who mysteriously vanishes, poor Zinnia is having a monster of a bad day. This one has a touch of magical realism and I am swooning already. Thank you, Capstone!

Odd & True by Cat Winters
Like I need a reason to get all grabby-hands over a new Cat Winters book! A magician’s curse, a monster-slaying mother, Tru grew up hearing her sister’s stories, but now she wonders if they were less fact and more comfort: a bout of polio as a child left Tru permanently disabled. Then Odette suddenly reappears after two years, brandishing weapons and tales of horrific beasts. Historical, paranormal, sisters…this has my name all over it!! Thank you, Amulet Books!

Leave a Reply

