Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/4

• My first week back to work (after a much needed staycation!) was one that has me looking forward to my next chuck of time off. It was one of those weeks where anything that could go wrong did, including – of all things – my office phone dying on me. Definitely the icing on the cake and the weekend couldn’t come fast enough!

• While yesterday was beautiful and sunny, today is looking pretty stormy. I had wanted to head to the Arts Festival (my brother and his girlfriend are on their way there) but, yeah, I’m not going to risk it. Today is all about snuggling with the pups and, as I type this, our newest is curled up with Matt ♥!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? My introduction to Taylor Jenkins Reid wasn’t as life-changing as I had hoped. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo sounded like a book right up my alley (a 70-something movie legend finally wants to share her story but will only do so if a no-name journalist is the one to write it) but turned out to be a huge disappointment. The Big Reveal wasn’t all that shocking (in fact, it seems to be author’s go-to secret when they need a ~scandalous~ twist) and Evelyn’s actions were far too selfish for her to gain my sympathy.

My May 2017 recap was full of new puppies and surprisingly great reads. I felt like May was a month that didn’t have much going for it book-wise, but looking back over my reviews, I enjoyed way more than I didn’t (though the bad reads were truly awful).

FOR REVIEW

Second Chance Season by Liora Blake
I have never heard of this author before but I am SO in the mood for contemporary romances right now, so this couldn’t have arrived at a better time! Second Chance Season is the second book in the Grand Valley series, but it sounds like this is a series where each book follows different characters – and we all know how I’m a little notorious for reading books out of order anyway, so..! One of my ultimately guilty pleasures is a romance featuring total opposites: rich starlet with a poor average Joe, goody two-shoes meets the wrong side of the tracks, you get the idea. This book follows a country boy and a city girl and I’m seeing stars already. I’m even more intrigued about this first book, First Step Forward – pro-football player and an apple orchard owner! YESSSS! Thank you, Pocket books!

Leave a Reply

