Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 5/28

• Missed it last week? We brought home another puppy! He’s a 9-week-old Boston Terrier and Bay isn’t quite sure what to think of him. He’s an absolute blast though and such a porker at 6.4lbs haha!

• Matt and I both took some vacation time this week and I’m really not looking forward to going back to work Tuesday! I’ve pretty much been living in leggings and yoga pants and am SO not mentally prepared for real clothes.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Brigid Kemmerer’s Letters to the Lost dealt with some seriously heavy topics (death, abuse, suicidal thoughts) without every feeling weighed down and I’m thrilled to say I raced through this one! Though I looove her Elemental series, I was NOT a fan of Thicker Than Water and was worried this new standalone wouldn’t be up to par – how wrong I was!

May’s mini-review round up featured an assortment of good (a lovely British contemporary, a super fun non-fic), the okay (a YA thriller), and the awful (a VERY buzzed-about beach read).

When I first heard about Robyn Harding’s The Party, I knew I needed it in my life: a sweet sixteen birthday party takes a horrible turn for the worse. Though this wasn’t quite the gripping, intense thriller I had hoped for, it wasn’t bad and was just fine for an afternoon.

This week’s the saturday six includes a new Hanson song, Mister Rogers, NASA, and more!


Christmas in London by Anita Hughes
Aaaahhh, Christmas books already?? A New York baker finds herself thrown into the spotlight after the star of a show has a terrible allergic reaction. Louisa is whisked off to London a week before Christmas where she finds herself rubbing shoulders with some of the worst’s most famous celebrity chefs – including one who might be more into her than she bargained for. This is a Christmas novel, it’s going to be sweet and romantic and I’m on board! Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker
Two weeks ago I received a copy of this one – looks like I’ll be doing a giveaway! Five years ago two sisters disappeared. Three years later only one returns and the forensic psychiatrist involved in the case doesn’t believe Cass’s story, something about it doesn’t quite add up. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

Unsub by Meg Gardiner
A thriller inspired by the Zodiac Killer? Sign me up! A serial killer dubbed The Prophet terrorized a city in the early 90s, leaving cryptic messages in his (or her) wake. Twenty years later, two bodies are discovered bearing a familiar symbol: is The Prophet back or is it just a copycat? Thank you, Dutton!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 5/28

Leave a Reply

