Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 5/14

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mamas! Today’s weekly wrap-up is coming a bit late because I spent my morning at the Race for the Cure (and shared some photos in my instagram stories – lol there was a LOT of lularoe happening…including a pair I had on aka the pair I’m wearing in the photo below!)

• I have some very exciting news: my pup is getting a little brother! Matt & I went to do a visit yesterday and will be bringing our boy home soon! I’ll definitely share more details (and photos – omg he’s so pudgy ♥) in an upcoming post, but here’s the skinny: he’s a 7-week-old Boston Terrier. My heart is bursting.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Cindy Anstey’s Duels and Deception was SUCH a ridiculously cute book! Regency-era YA with nefarious villains and a swoony romance. I can’t believe I’ve waited until now to read one of her books but after this one I’m absolutely hooked.

In this week’s the saturday six. I shared nerdy dinosaur news, a recipe for a beautiful (and vegan!) drink, Harry Potter news, and more!

Single-Minded by Lisa Daily
Alex met Michael first met in kindergarten and she had been planning their wedding ever since. Now 28, the two are married with a beautiful home and fantastic careers. They have a great life…until Michael drops a huge bombshell and suddenly Alex finds herself with an ex-husband. This one sounds like a perfect beach read! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

Mad by Chloe J. Esposito
Another book that screams summer! When a woman temporarily takes over her twin sister’s identity for a few hours she uncovers a life she never knew about: one full of the Mafia, hitmen, and secret lovers. Thank you, Dutton!

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker
I really enjoyed Wendy’s debut and was SO excited when a copy of her upcoming thriller showed up at my door! Five years ago two sisters disappeared. Three years later only one returns…but the story she tells doesn’t seem to add up. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

Almost Missed You by Jessica Strawser
I reviewed this one back in April and was pretty impressed! Everyone said Violet and Finn had a fairy-tale romance and Violet believed it herself until Finn suddenly disappeared – with their young son – while on vacation. He canceled his cell service, got rid of his car, made it all but impossible to find him. Why did he do it? Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Party by Robyn Harding
A Sweet Sixteen birthday party goes horribly awry. Say no more! Four girls are invited for a sleepover and it ends in a lawsuit. I am SO there. Thank you, Gallery!

Woman Enters Left by Jessica Brockmole
I will read anything Jessica writes. A cross-country road trip, a dual era timeline between the 20s and 50s, the glamour of old school Hollywood. My heart!! Thank you, Ballantine Books!

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones
So, yeah, remember when I said I loved Duels and Deception? The moment I saw this one I knew it needed to be in my life. 1818, London. Annis just learned that her father is dead and his money is missing. Naturally she becomes a spy. This book also throws in a little magic and AAHHHH YESSSS! Thank you, Knopf Books for Young Readers!

The Dream-Keeper’s Daughter by Emily Colin
Eight years ago Isabel’s boyfriend mysteriously disappeared, leaving her all alone with their daughter. Recently Isabel has started to believe that Max is actually alive…just in a different time. I’m thinking this book is a dual narrative, because Max is alive and well in 1816 Barbados and trying to find his way back home. Either way, I am VERY interested!! Thank you, Ballantine Books!

Leave a Reply

