Uncategorized

April 2017 recap

WHAT I…DID

• April played hard with my emotions. I mentioned both on the blog and on Instagram that our pup was scheduled for surgery. HOWEVER, about two weeks after we scheduled it, we noticed a huge change in the issue (health-wise she was fine and the same loving pup she was before, but she had developed a growth on her leg that was eventually ruled out as being cancerous whew!) and I swear our vet probably got sick of seeing us. lol Matt and I were like nervous parents with our constant calls and trips. There was a possibility the growth would simply go away on its own – and in the end that’s what happened. We were able to cancel the surgery (yay!) and, currently, all that’s left is a tiny bare patch on her leg where the fur hasn’t yet grown back. I am one VERY relieved dogmama ♥

• We started redoing one of our bathrooms! So far we’re still very much in the planning stages and haven’t gotten further than brainstorming ideas and buying new decor.

• While I’m not 100% vegan, I’ve been incorporating a LOT of vegan ingredients into my meals for the past few months (in you’re in Pittsburgh, Vegan Fest is this weekend!) and have been experimenting with a variety of different food! For the most part it’s all been super delicious, but there have definitely been a few duds.

• It’s no secret I’m obsessed with my dog (if you follow my on IG I basically only post photos of her #sorrynotsorry) and have been taking full advantage of the gorgeous weather by getting some extra long walks in!

• I’ve never been the kind of person to sit and binge on a television show, but that’s exactly what Matt and I did with Big Little Lies. We went in, only planning on giving the first episode a shot, and seven hours later we were finished. I had read the book, so I knew how it was going to end, but Matt had no idea what was coming and watching his reactions to how it all played out was SO fun!

• I discovered a new Chinese place and I’m a little concerned that I’m now going to have EVERY meal there ha! I pass it every day on my way home from work and decided to grab dinner one night when Matt and I were both too exhausted to even think about cooking. Life-changing ♥

• I read 12 books in April and am shocked – I’ve been in a rut these past few months and am surprised I got ANY reading done! Several were audiobooks (The Story Keeper, Misery, and my re-read of Good Omens) and they were all fabulous. Out of those 12, 2 were 5-stars (Misery and Good Omens, bringing my total of 5-star reads for 2017 to 4! I’m typically stingy with my 5-star ratings, but this year seems to be a great one so far. I’m pretty evenly split between mysteries and historical fiction, but there were a few fantasies thrown in (I’m so sad to say goodbye to Chew!)

WHAT I…REVIEWED

ALMOST MISSED YOU BY JESSICA STRAWSER was a fantastic debut that had me turning pages at a lightning-fast pace! Violet and Finn are basically the perfect couple – everyone says so – and five years and a baby later, Violet truly believes it. Until they’re on vacation and Finn not only abandons her but also takes their son, vanishing without a word. Finn heads to a friend’s where he demands use of her wealthy in-laws’ lakehouse; if she doesn’t give him the security code and allow him to hide out, he’ll reveal a dark secret that could absolutely ruin her marriage. I’ll admit the ending was a little lackluster and made me so sad for Violet, but this novel was excellent and I can’t wait to see what Strawser does next!

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE BY MARY TORJUSSEN was absolutely ridiculous and not even in an enjoyable bad movie kind of way. Had I not agreed to be part of the blog tour I wouldn’t have even finished this one. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT BY KAREN WHITE however, was lovely. An ugly divorce has a mom and her two children moving into a cottage owned by a wonderfully sassy 94-year-old woman. A private academy, gated communities, totally overbearing class moms, and an anonymous blog who reveals a huge scandal. Yep, that’s my kind of book!

BEYOND THE WILD RIVER BY SARAH MAINE should have been a novel tailor-made for my tastes: the late 1800s, the Canadian wilderness, an Scottish heiress travelling with her father when the two run into a man who used to work at their estate…until five years ago when he fled the night of a double-murder. While the details were beautiful and the scenery was exquisite, I was a bit disappointed with this one. I didn’t care enough about the characters to ever really get into the story.

MISSING BY KELLEY ARMSTRONG was SUCH a fun, intense YA thriller! Winter is determined to leave her town the second she graduates – just like so many other kids before her, including both her sister and best friend. When she discovers a boy badly beaten and left for dead, questions begin to arise and Winter soon suspects that the kids who left didn’t do so on their own, that there was a good chance they were taken. I read this one in a single sitting!

THE ONE TRUE LOVE OF ALICE-ANN BY EVA MARIE EVERSON will stay with me for a long, long time and don’t be at all surprised to see it pop back up in my Top Reads of 2017 list! Alice-Ann Branch has been hopelessly in love with her brother’s best friend for years and she finally makes the decision to tell Mack her feelings at her 16th birthday party. However, America is rocked to the core when news of Pearl Harbor spreads and it’s not long before Mack enlists. Over the course of three years Alice-Ann and Mack keep up their correspondence until a telegram arrives with terrible news. This book is so much more than a love story, it’s a coming of age novel and I totally gushed over it in my review. I absolutely loved this book!

THE SHADOW SISTER BY LUCINDA RILEY my first introduction to this new series and I’m now interested in going back to read the previous two books! Star was adopted just like her five sisters, and had no idea where she came from. When her billionaire father passes, he leaves Star and her sisters clues to their true identity and Star’s takes her to England. There’s an antique bookshop and Beatrix Potter and you all know I love dual-era stories!! The one thing I couldn’t stand with this one was Star’s sister CeeCee. Ugh. I think I spent more time ranting about her than I did actually reviewing the book!

WHAT I…BLOGGED

MARCH 2017 RECAP

5 THINGS I LOVED IN APRIL

THE SATURDAY SIX
4/1
4/8
4/15
4/22
4/29

WEEKLY WRAP-UPS
4/2
4/9
4/16
4/23
4/30

2 thoughts on “April 2017 recap

Leave a Reply

