Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 4/23

• This week was all about getting outside and exercising…unfortunately, chilly mornings and hot afternoons led to one wicked cold ugh.

• I mentioned this yesterday, but I am not a tv person. Sure I like some shows, but I’m not the kind of person who marathons or binges on series. Never was. HOWEVER, Friday I came home from work feeling crappy and wanted to relax. I thought I would finally (!!) check out Big Little Lies (back in 2015 I gushed over the audio – that post also features a review for my introduction to Agatha Christie ♥ long and lasting relationship indeed). Matt was going to do his own thing, but decided to sit and watch a few minutes. That few minutes turned into seven hours! We binged the entire thing and I was thrilled that Matt was so into it! Town & Country has a list of several other series to watch and I’m tempted.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Sarah Maine’s Beyond the Wild River had such a lush, rich setting (the Canadian wilderness in the 1800s) and a premise tailor-made for me (a sheltered heiress accompanies her father on a trip and runs into a boy – now man – she was once friends with…only for him to disappear from her father’s estate the night of a horrific double-murder). Unfortunately, this one lack character development and I didn’t get into it as much as I had hoped. Still, Maine’s writing was so beautiful that I’m eager to see what she does next.

Kelley Armstrong is amazing and I will forever praise her books. Missing is her latest YA, a thriller about a town kids long to escape and a boy who raises questions about whether or not the kids who left did so voluntarily. I read this one in a single sitting I was so hooked. There are brutal scenes involving dogs, however.

This week’s the saturday six features a mouth-watering recipe I’m seriously considering trying out this week (chipotle lime cauliflower tacos!!), Canada being Canada, my favorite president Teddy Roosevelt praising conversation and nature, a history of one of the most popular fonts, and more!

You Were Here by Gian Sardar
“Readers of Kate Atkinson will delight in this suspenseful and romantic debut novel about a woman haunted by nightmares and her grandmother’s role in a doomed love triangle almost seventy years before.” Hello, gorgeous. Abby is terrified of an early death and her constantly nightmares of being buried alive aren’t helping matters. When a recent nightmare reveals a name from her family’s past, she returns home looking for answers, only to be hit with more questions. A cryptic note hidden among her grandmother’s jewelry, a seventy-year-old love triangle, a detective hunting down a violent criminal. You Were Here has my name ALL over it!! Thank you, Putnam!

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly
This one had been on my radar since I first heard about it, but what really sealed the deal was when a publicist (who normally does NOT pitch this type of book to me) reached out about it. Her excitement was totally infectious AND the fact that this isn’t the typical book she sends me made me even more eager to read it! It’s the summer of 1999 and a couple travels to a festival to see a total eclipse of the sun. Both are sure it’ll be a memory to last a lifetime, only it’s not the eclipse that has a lasting impression. Shortly after the shadows pass, Laura sees something terrible and is adamant about what she witnessed, though the man denies it – her word against his, right? Still, the woman involved is relieved and grateful. Months later, however, she appears at Laura’s door. Fifteen years later, Kit and Laura are living under false identities, completely off-grid, no social media. The past still has a way of catching up, however. There’s been some buzz for this one and y’all know I love me a twisty thriller!! Thank you, Minotaur books!

Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave
I wasn’t a huge fan of Eight Hundred Grapes, so I was surprised when Dave’s upcoming novel arrived at my door. I’m prone to giving authors second chances, however, and Hello, Sunshine sounds really interesting: a lifestyle guru with an extremely popular YouTube cooking show and New York Times bestsellers, Sunshine Mackenzie seems to have it all. Her videos have millions of views, people love her recipes, and she has a perfect husband. Sunshine is hiding a secret though, and when it’s revealed, her fall is catastrophic. Yep, I’m curious! Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

Antisocial by Jillian Blake
Anna isn’t having a great senior year. Her basketball star boyfriend unceremoniously dumped her and her friends are all but ignoring her. But Anna isn’t the only Alexandria Prep student who’s in for a rough year. Someone begins hacking phones, leaking photos and texts for all the world to see. I hadn’t heard about this book before it showed up in the mail, but it’s super short and YA Thrillers are always fun! Thank you, Delacorte Press!

Loving Luther by Allison Pittman
Germany, 1505. A six-year-old girl begins her new life inside a convent. Though she’s fiercely devoted to upholding the vows she took as a child, smuggled writings from excommunicated priest Martin Luther work their way into her mind – could there be more to her life than the convent? I’ve been getting back into Christian Fiction (hahaha, what a pairing: Christian Fiction and Psychological Thrillers are the two genres I’m most into at the moment) and was delighted when this arrived at my door! Thank you, Tyndale!

The Promise of Breeze Hill by Pam Hillman
After Isabella’s brother was found dead, the responsibilities of running her family’s plantation fall squarely on her shoulders. Though she does have the help of a handsome Irish carpenter (who, in turn, is hoping to provide his brothers passage from Ireland), Isabella can’t help but fear she’ll lose Breeze Hill. When a suspicious fire devastates the crops and gravely injures Isabella’s father, Connor begins to suspect someone is out to destroy the wealthy family. Okay, so I legit shrieked when I opened this package!! I heard about this one months ago and have been drooling over it ever since. I cannot wait to dive in! Thank you, Tyndale!

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert
I first blogged about this one back in January in my post about 2017 contemporaries I need to get my hands on and was thrilled when a review copy arrived a few weeks later! A second ARC arrived this week (giveaway time??) and I can’t wait to discuss this book! Sanna is a fifth generation cider-maker who only wants to live a nice, quiet life on the family orchard. After years of keeping his son’s troubled mother away, Isaac decides to pack up and move to California, where he happens to pull up at Sanna’s orchard. Reichert’s novels are fun and light-hearted and food-focused – totally up my alley!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 4/23

Leave a Reply

