Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 3/12

• This week has been full of ups and downs. I’m going to get into the really terrible downs, but one of the not-so-awful ugh moments came on Monday. Last week I mentioned how my company treats us to Food Truck Friday, but that it was canceled due to weather. Again, every other day was gorgeous and VERY spring-like…except Friday. Ha! So, once again, it was canceled. Also, heading to work Friday morning I got a ticket. Not the best way to start the day, right? When I walked into our kitchen, I saw someone had not only made coffee, but also put up a really sweet post-it. Thank you, coworker!

• And I guess the big bosses felt bad for canceling the food truck two weeks in a row – not only did they order pizza for the entire building (we’re not MASSIVE, but there are over 100 of us!) but they also told us all to leave early. Win-win!

• If you follow me on instagram, be prepared: this afternoon Matt and I are heading back to my hometown to see a production of Shrek Jr and I am pumped!

• I no longer recap what I read/am reading, but I can’t not talk about The Romanovs. This huge, sweeping history of the tsars begins in the 1600s and ends with the Russian Revolution. For two weeks I’ve been pacing myself but now I’m coming to the end and am not ready to say good-bye! Highly, highly recommended for anyone interested in the time period!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? I’ll admit I was a little hesitant going into Susan Meissner’s A Bridge Across the Ocean, I mean, ghosts + WWII, really? BUT IT WORKED and I was totally blown away! This one is told in three voices: two women fleeing the war and one woman in the present and you know I love me a good dual-era novel! No lie, I loved this one to the point that it’s honestly a possible candidate for a top read of 2017. Yeah. It was excellent and I’m about to get on her other books STAT.

the saturday six was another assortment of mixed goodies: there’s a vegan recipe, a podcast list, Jane Austen, Buffy, and some flailing over a super cool new theater that opened up in town!

Almost Missed You by Jessica Strawser
I received an e-ARC of this one a few months ago, so the arrival of a beautiful hardcover was such a surprise! Violet and Finn are meant to be – Violet certainly believes it and everyone else says they’re the perfect couple – so why did Finn suddenly leave one day? As if abandoning her in their hotel room wasn’t bad enough, he also took their son with him. Soon Violet realizes just how little she knew about the man she married. Although Caitlin has been best friends with Finn forever, she’s faced with a terrible choice: Finn shows up at her door demanding she hide him and his son since he’s wanted for kidnapping. If she doesn’t, Finn threatens to reveal a secret that could destroy her whole family. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman
CUE THE SHRIEKING! I’ve only read a few of Lippman’s Tess Monaghan series and discussed one of her novellas in a post about side stories, but Wilde Lake is a standalone and I. Am. Ready. Lu Brant, the newly elected and first female state’s attorney of Howard County, Maryland, sees her chance at making her name with a case involving a mentally disturbed drifter. As she prepares for the trial, however, memories resurface of the night her brother saved his best friend…at the cost of another man’s life. AJ was eighteen at the time and the jury cleared his name, but Lu was a child. Were there details she never knew? Did that night really play out the way she remembers? As she digs deeper, she’s only met with more questions and the dawning realization that her beloved legal system might not hold all the answers. YESSSS I CAN’T WAIT TO DIVE IN!! Thank you, William Morrow!

Date with Death by Julia Chapman
Ooh, the first in a new series (and I am a huge fan of cozies)! When Delilah Metcalfe, owner of The Dales Dating Agency, accepts she just can’t keep her business afloat, she begrudgingly rents out the other half of her office space to Samson O’Brien. Samson had been a detective on the police force until he was let go. Branching out on his own, Samson takes on new cases – while fighting his own in an attempt to clear his name. His latest case, however, leads right back to Delilah’s Dating Agency. Cozies are so, so fun and this one looks like it’ll be a quick and entertaining read! Thank you, Minotaur!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/12

Leave a Reply

