Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/26

• On Friday, Pittsburgh’s temperature broke a record! We reached 76 – breaking a record of 70 set back in 1906!!!

• The ridiculously warm weather led to lots of walks (and one happy pup!) …and now today there’s snow. #Pittsburghweather

• If we’re facebook friends you already saw this, but Matt recently surprised me with a new subscription box: Hunt a Killer. It’s no secret I’m obsessed with murder mysteries and one of my dreams is to be a mini Hercule Poirot soooo this is pretty much perfect for me.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? My review for Clare Mackintosh’s I See You is horribly vague I know, but I did NOT want to spoil this thriller for anyone! I haven’t read her debut, but now I’m extremely curious – especially since readers who loved I See You said I Let You Go was even better!

I’ve been craving some backlist titles and shared another 4 backlist bumps for recent reads. Historical romance, a romance that crossed time, the disappearance of a boy set against a backdrop of the Cold War, and some YA fantasy!

This week’s the saturday six features a list of the most romantic cities in the world, super exciting news from NASA, bees (of course), discovered WWII letters from a soldier to his boyfriend, and more!


 

Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens
I received an ARC back in November, and with the release date just a few weeks away, a beautiful hardback arrived at my door! I’m VERY excited about this one: a woman and her daughter flee an abusive home one night. With her ex-husband in jail, Lindsey is able to make a new start with her now-teenage daughter. Lindsey even has been able to get into the world of dating again and has a great boyfriend. Then she receives word her ex-husband has been released and suddenly Lindsey’s world is turned upside down: her boyfriend’s life is threatened, her home is invaded, and she can’t help but feel as though she’s being watched. Her ex swears he’s a changed man, but can she really believe him? OOOOH IT SOUNDS SO GOOD, RIGHT?? Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

Beauty and the Beast by Maria Tatar
This super slim book features a collection of short stories from around the world about animal bride and grooms. I am SO intrigued! Thank you, Penguin!

The Wildling Sisters by Eve Chase
AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!! I recently flailed over this one when I featured upcoming historical fiction novels I can’t wait to read and when I received an e-mail saying Putnam approved my request on netgalley I was at work and legit shrieked at my desk. #sorrynotsorry. Eve’s debut Black Rabbit Hall way my favorite read of 2016 and one I’m STILL recommending to everyone I come across. I even featured it in a GoodReads Recommends post. After just that one book I would read ANYTHING Eve writes so it doesn’t even matter what the book is about – but it really does sound excellent: four sisters, an English manor, the summer of 1959, and a dark secret they all share. Thank you, G.P. Putnam’s Sons!

Best Intentions by Erika Raskin
Marti is a mother to three children, the daughter of a New york Congressman, and the wife of a famous obstetrician. She seems to have it all, but the truth is she’s bored. She’s tired of playing the role of the perfect stay-at-home mom and decides to volunteer at the hospital where her husband works. As she falls deeper into the world of long hours, tired doctors, and office politics, she seems something she can’t unsee and in doing the right thing, Marti finds herself thrust into the spotlight. UMMMMMMM the blurb mentions Marti becomes a murder trial defendant and it’s like this book was written for me. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 2/26

Leave a Reply

