weekly wrap-up 2/19: the one that made me swoon.

Bay is a Valentine’s Day baby! Because it fell on a Tuesday, we didn’t do much (unlike the birthday party we had last year and how awesome was that doggy cake??), but there’s an amazing pet shop just minutes away from my new job and let’s just say she’s spoiled. Treats, toys, you name it, she got it.

• If you follow me on IG you might have noticed my new AMAZING dress. It’s modcloth’s Start Spreading the Mews dress and it’s pretty much the greatest thing ever. The entire thing is covered in newspaper print – but the articles are all about cats. It’s hilarious and I got a ton of compliments when I wore it on Friday! SIZE DOWN THOUGH. I grabbed a small because it was on sale and couldn’t be returned and modcloth’s sizes are totally bonkers sometimes. It’s not overly big, but an XS would definitely fit better.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? The only post that went up this week was the saturday six. Willy Wonka, bees, Mister Rogers!

Just Fly Away by Andrew McCarthy
Fifteen-year-old Lucy discovers her father has been keeping a massive secret: he not only had an affair, but she now has an 8-year-old half-brother who lives in the same tiny town. Floored by the news, Lucy flees to Maine where her estranged grandfather lives. I don’t know much about this book – hadn’t even heard of it until it appeared at my door – but it looks interesting! Thank you, Algonquin!

The Fifth Avenue Artists Society by Joy Callaway
Joy held a giveaway on instagram and Erin and I both won copies! The Bronx, 1891. Four artistic sisters. I love books about art AND when books take on real figures from history: there are appearances by Edith Wharton and Oscar Wilde! I’m positive I’ll enjoy this one immensely. Thank you, Joy!

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion
Adam Sharp is just about to turn fifty. He’s happy being with Claire, he’s fantastic at the music trivia questions at their pub’s quiz night, and he has a fairly comfortable IT job. He likes his life, but he can’t help but wonder what it might have been. Over twenty years ago he had a passionate affair with an intelligent and ambitious actress only to let her walk away. When Angelina calls out of the blue, what does it mean? I’m all about lost love novels! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
I mentioned this one back in January when I discussed upcoming novels I couldn’t wait to read and I am ecstatic that I was able to grab a copy! What I said in that post: A classic film actress-now-reclusive Hollywood icon is ready to tell her life’s story. There’s only one reporter she wants to talk to though, and it’s unclear why Evelyn would choose Monique, but she’ll gladly take the opportunity to get her career back on track. I’m all about old school Hollywood and the scandalous truths behind the glitzy ballgowns and lavish parties – whether they’re real or fictional! It also sounds a little like June in terms of old Hollywood and I am SO there! Thank you, Atria!

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer
Brigid introduced me to those Merrick boys and I will happily read anything she writes. In Letters to the Lost, a girl copes with her mother’s death by leaving letters at her grave. A boy serving his court-ordered community service at the cemetery comes across one of those letters and writes back. Before either one knows it, Juliet and Declan have formed a connection, writing letters back and forth, all the while unaware they know each other from school. Thank you, Bloomsbury!

If I Could Tell You by Elizabeth Wilhide
This was a book I mentioned in the historical fiction edition of the upcoming novels I can’t wait to get my hands on posts. The publicist recently reached out to me and offered a copy – um yes please! The Nightingale meets Anna Karenina, guys. Julia is living a highly privileged life in England. She has a handsome husband, a young son, a housekeeper, and a very comfortable home. Everything changes when a film crew arrives in town…and she falls in love. Now penniless and cut off from her little boy, Julia is left to travel around war-torn London with her lover as the German invasion looms ever closer. Thank you, Penguin!

The Breakdown by B.A. Paris
AND THERE WAS MUCH SHRIEKING AND FLAILING! Behind Closed doors was one of my FAVORITE books of 2016 and I really haven’t shut up about it since reading it. I highlighted The Breakdown in my mystery and suspense list and AAAAAHHHHHHH IT’S MIIIINE. Since the night Cass saw a car accident in the woods she hasn’t been the same. Though there wasn’t anything she could have done – there was a heavy storm, that particular stretch of road is extremely dangerous, the woman in the car was clearly dead – Cass can’t stop thinking about it and soon finds herself forgetting things. First it starts off with small details, forgetting her keys or where she parked the car, but who doesn’t do that? Soon, however, her memory lapses develop into something more: why has been been ordering baby supplies when she doesn’t have a child? Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

There’s Something About Cornwall by Daisy James
As much as I love a good and twisty thriller, sometimes I just want a fluffy, easy read and There’s Something About Cornwall looks perfect: Emilie Roberts is a food photographer who just had her dream assignment (Venice) nabbed by her slimy ex. Instead, Emilie is sent to the Cornish coast. Just when she thought things couldn’t get any worse, disaster strikes. Emilie’s knight in shining armor may have come in the form of a surfing instructor and the fearsome steed is actually a bright old camper van, but could this be the start of a new fairy tale? Talk about fluff! Total brain candy right here and I can’t wait. Thank you, HQDigital!

House of Shadows by Nicola Cornick
Back in April, I mentioned this one in a GoodReads Recommends post and it basically is a check list of everything I love in a book: “for fans of Kate Morton,” a dual era timeline (1660s and the present day), FAMILY SECRETS! A man researching his family tree disappears suddenly and his sister begins a frantic search. In doing so she uncovers a 200-year-old diary of a courtesan who was living on their estate when it burnt to the ground. In uncovering the truth behind the centuries-old tragedy, will Holly also be able to learn the truth about what happened to her brother? Thank you, Graydon House!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 2/19: the one that made me swoon.

Leave a Reply

