Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/12

• Hands down, the highlight of my week was board game night with my group of girls. So. Much. Fun.

• Continuing with the birthday celebrations from last week, my youngest sister turned 19 this week (!) and this coming Tuesday, Bay turns 3. ♥ My Valentine’s Day puppy.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Abby Fabiaschi’s debut I Liked My Life is one I definitely recommend! Maddy is a mother who seemingly had it all, only to commit suicide. Told in three voices (Maddy’s, her husband Brady’s, and their daughter Eve’s) the book follows a family in pieces as they try to make sense of what happened and why – and where to go from here. Don’t let the topic scare you, I Liked My Life is surprisingly lighthearted and I giggled SEVERAL times.

I shared my January 2017 recap. The books I read were either really fantastic or downright terrible. Not much middle ground!

This week’s the saturday six includes more smoothie recipes (beets!), The Crown talk, and a historic house that’s on the market for a mere $20 million.


 

No Easy Target by Iris Johansen
(okay, so I’m assuming it’s Target and not Prey) An enemy from her past sends Margaret on the run, only this time she’s determined to go from hunted to hunter. I really don’t know much more apart from that sentence, but I’m intrigued! Apparently Margaret is also a dog whisperer and a packet of dog biscuits were included! Bay loved them, btw! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Heartbeat of Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
I mentioned this one last month in my series about books I need to get my hands on. This YA novel is about a girl who lives under her brother’s shadow. He’s the star football player, super popular, and totally handsome – but everything changes the night he drunkenly drives himself home after a party and ends up killing two people. Now Wing is paying the price for her brother’s actions. Tormented and bullied in school, her only solace is running the track at night. Thank you, Delacorte!

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
I was beyond impressed with last year’s The Star-Touched Queen and was delighted when the publicist reached out with a copy of the upcoming companion novel! Indian Mythology, guys. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 2/12

Leave a Reply

