Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/5

Last week I mentioned a new position I was taking at work – I started that role this week and…hoo boy. It’ll certainly be a process, but so far so good!

• My oldest niece turned EIGHT on Wednesday (what!) and I’m still trying to wrap my mind around it. She was just a baby like yesterday!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Lisa Gardner is seriously becoming one of my favorite authors. Her latest, Right Behind You is yet another glued-to-the-page read about two siblings who came from an abusive home. One night, nine-year-old Telly murdered his father in an attempt to protect himself and his little sister, only for them both to wind up in foster care without any further contact. Eight years later Sharlah is about to have her adoption finalized, while Telly is still being bounced around from home to home, just about ready to age out of the system. When a double murder points to Telly, Quincy and Rainie soon have a VERY good reason to believe Sharlah is in danger. Seriously, if you love fast-paced novels that completely pull you in, look no further.

I’m normally a big fan of Kasie West’s books, but By Your Side wasn’t as excellent as I had hoped. Two teens trapped inside a library all weekend should have been a total ME book, but I felt the summary was a little misleading. There are multiple ‘heavy topics’ in this one, though, and I was really surprised by that – and by how well West handled them!

This week’s the saturday six. features a very interesting dinosaur discovery, a Stephen King reading guide, Albert Einstein, and more!


Murderous Mayhem at Honeychurch Hall by Hannah Dennison
Oh, Honeychurch Hall. I love this series (my double review for books 1 & 2 + my review of book 3 and author chat) and legit shrieked when this book appeared at my door this week! Kat was the host of a popular Antiques Roadshow-esque television program who left her job to open an antiques shop with her mum. Only her mother ended up purchasing a cottage home on the Honeychurch Hall estate instead. A new mystery with each book plus SUCH a colorful cast of characters had me zooming through each one and I’m so excited for the fourth! Thank you, Minotaur!

The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman
Three years after her husband was killed in a car accident, Lilian is finally starting to feel as though she can carry on with her life. She’s able to get her two girls up and off to school and she can make it in to work. When her boss signs Lilian up for a gardening class, she has no idea what awaits. I typically avoid novels about widows and grief, but this one is already getting buzz and I’m intrigued. Thank you, Berkley!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 2/5

Leave a Reply

