Uncategorized

2017 books I need to get my hands on: mystery/suspense!

And here we are, the final day of this week-long series! Can you believe it?? I feel like this week flew! Before we get into today’s list, here are links to the rest of this week’s posts if you missed one of wanted a refresher: non-fiction, sci-fi and fantasy, contemporary fiction, and historical fiction.

Today I’ll be getting into the mystery and suspense novels of 2017 that I can’t wait to read! This list was probably the hardest to compile, even tougher to narrow down than historical fiction – and y’all know I love me some historical fiction! Also, just like yesterday, I’ve included a bonus list with the mystery novels of 2017 that I already have.

I See You by Clare Mackintosh | February 21, 2017
Last year’s I Let You Go (originally published in the UK in 2014) turned Clare into a household name among thriller fans and earned her a spot alongside the heavy-hitters on the genre. Next month she’ll be following up that wildly popular novel with I See You, a tale of a women who goes about her daily routine, completely unaware someone has taken notice of her favorite seat on the train or that she always waits in a precise spot on the platform. Zoe doesn’t suspect a thing until she happens to see an ad in the paper. An ad that features her photo, a phone number, and a link to FindTheOne.com. Each day a new woman appears in the ad and, over time, Zoe comes to realize that these women have all been victims of horribly violent crimes. As Zoe’s fear turns into full-blown paranoia, she no longer knows who to trust, whether the friendly stranger in the seat next to her is truly just a polite businessman – or the man targeting her.

The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman | March 7, 2017
A psychological thriller with a gothic twist that’s being compared to Rebecca. Yep, I am SO there. Hoping to rejuvenate their marriage, a couple moves back to their college town where they’ll step into the caretaker role for a crumbling estate that had belonged to their old writing professor. Clare’s hoping that being back in town will not only bring them closer together, but also kickstart her husband’s writing. Jess had become a literary darling in his 20s when his debut novel became all the rage. Years later he has yet to replicate that initial success and with the advance long gone, Jess needs more than a jolt of inspiration. Soon after moving into Riven House, however, the couple soon realizes things aren’t quite as picturesque as they had appeared. Claire starts to hear a baby crying in the night and begins seeing shadowy figures in the fog. Looking into the town’s history, Clare discovers a dark, menacing past – and Riven House is connected. A ghost story!! I am so excited for this one!

The Fall of Lisa Bellow by Susan Perabo | March 14, 2017
Two girls’ lives are changed forever when an armed, masked man walks into a sandwich shop. Though Meredith and Lisa aren’t friends (Lisa is by far the most popular girl in 8th grade), the two find themselves crouched down on the floor together, alternating between comforting each other and being terrified. Then the unthinkable happens: the man orders Lisa to leave with him, leaving Meredith behind to make sense of it all on her own. The older I get the more I begin to identify with parents in novels and I have a feeling Meredith’s mother will hit me hard: she’s overcome with relief that her child is safe, but full of guilt and helplessness over not having been able to protect Meredith and shame at knowing her daughter is safe while another mother is grieving. The blurb states that Meredith copes with Lisa’s abduction “in an unforgettable way” and I’ll admit I’m very intrigued.

The Finishing School by Joanna Goodman | April 11, 2017
A successful writer returns to her elite Swiss boarding school eager to get to the bottom of a tragedy that happened twenty years earlier. In 1998, a beautiful girl plunged from a balcony to her death four floors below. Not wanting a student’s death to have a negative impact on the school (where the Who’s Who of European society send their children), the school covered it up, waving it off as an accident and nothing more. But now Kersti, who never got over her best friend’s death, has the chance to investigate what really happened. Was it suicide? Was her best friend pushed? What happened that night?

The Breakdown by B.A. Paris | June 20, 2017
Remember yesterday when I mentioned how I didn’t even know what Eve Chase’s new novel was about but I wanted it? B.A. Paris wrote the amazing, phenomenal, creepy, haunting, horrifying Behind Closed Doors, a novel I’ve been pushing HARD since it came out in August. You know those novels that are so fantastic you tell everyone? Not just your friends and family, but coworkers, neighbors, the person behind you in the check-out line at the grocery store. Behind Closed Doors was THAT book and I am so, so thrilled that she has a new book coming out! Since the night Cass saw a car accident in the woods she hasn’t been the same. Though there wasn’t anything she could have done – there was a heavy storm, that particular stretch of road is extremely dangerous, the woman in the car was clearly dead – Cass can’t stop thinking about it and soon finds herself forgetting things. First it starts off with small details, forgetting her keys or where she parked the car, but who doesn’t do that? Soon, however, her memory lapses develop into something more: why has been been ordering baby supplies when she doesn’t have a child? Paris is another author who could write a phonebook or a to do list and I would be itching to read it.

The Child by Fiona Barton | June 27, 2017
2017 is going to be the year of amazing follow-up novels. Last February I devoured Fiona’s debut, The Widow, and since then I’ve been hoping and praying for more. The Child sounds excellent: when a house is demolished, a tiny skeleton is discovered, leading a journalist to investigate the story behind the Building Site Baby. What she uncovers is shocking: years ago, a newborn was stolen from a hospital and was never found. Kate soon realizes there’s far more to the story as she tracks down people who once lived in the neighborhood where the skeleton was found. I. Can’t. Wait.

BONUS
Like yesterday, these novels are the upcoming titles that I’m excited for and already own!

The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney | January 24, 2017
Holllly. Okay, so I’ve already read this one and my review goes live soon – you do NOT want to miss it! Two women, two years apart and under tragic circumstances, find looking for a place to rent. One Folgate Street seems too good to be true: the rent is EXTREMELY affordable and it’s minimalist style is super sleek and modern. There are rules to follow, however: no photos, no books. When it’s revealed the previous tenant suspiciously died, the current renter looks into it – and uncovers a startling secret. Movie rights have already been purchased and the book isn’t even out yet! I’m hesitant to read books that are hailed as the next Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, etc, but this one was GOOD.

A Death at the Yoga Cafe by Michelle Kelly | January 31, 2017
How do I only have one cozy mystery in this list?? Last year’s Downward Facing Death was a excellent start to Kelly’s Keeley Carpenter series. A woman returns home to the tiny English village where she grew up and turns her father’s butcher shop into a yoga studio and vegetarian cafe! This series has my name written all over it and the first book was great. I’m thrilled to be jumping back into this series!

Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens | March 14, 2017
After a bumpy start, I quickly became enamored with Chevy’s work. Her latest novel looks so good. Eleven years ago Lindsey grabbed her daughter and escaped an abusive relationship. Her ex-husband was sent to jail and Lindsey was able to make a new start with her daughter. Now her ex-husband has been released and, though Lindsey severed any ties to him, she can’t help but feel like she’s being watched – especially when her new boyfriend is threatened and someone broke into her home. Though her ex claims to be a changed man, can Lindsey believe him? And if he’s not the one following and threatened her family, who is?

The Sisters of Blue Mountain by Karen Katchur | April 4, 2017
Shortly after Matt and I purchased our first home I received a copy of Karen’s debut, The Secrets of Lake Road, and every time I think of the book I’m instantly flooded with memories of sitting on our new porch and relaxing in the sun while reading. I really enjoyed her first book and am looking forward to jumping into this one! When hundreds of geese mysteriously die overnight in a dam, the media descends on the tiny town of Mountain Springs, Pennsylvania. Linnet owns a bed & breakfast and with tourist season now threatened, her life has suddenly been turned upside-down. As if that wasn’t bad enough, the media attention brings her estranged sister back to town and their father is the one sent to investigate the incident. But when a body winds up on Linnet’s property, her father becomes the prime suspect.

I Found You by Lisa Jewell | April 25, 2017
A single mom finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He doesn’t have a name and, despite the wind, doesn’t have a jacket. He doesn’t even have any idea how he came to be sitting there. Against her better judgement, she lets the man into her home. Over in London, Lily is 21 and has been married all of three weeks. When her husband doesn’t return home from work one night she finds herself all alone in a new country – and then the police tell her that her husband doesn’t exist. Ooooh!!!

The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda | May 16, 2017
Last year Megan Miranda decided to try her hand at writing an Adult novel with All the Missing Girls. Don’t let me mini review fool you: I could talk about this one for DAYS. The storytelling was so neat (essentially backward, starting with Day 15, reaching Day 1 at the end of the book) and I’ve been anticipating her next novel! Guys, The Perfect Stranger has a main character named Leah. I never see my name in books! As Leah, a journalist, tracks down a missing friend, she discovers that her friend might not have existed.

14 thoughts on “2017 books I need to get my hands on: mystery/suspense!

  1. Thank you for these posts. I am a small town librarian and your synopses have helped me make a list of titles for purchase that I might not have otherwise discovered. I look forward to reading several myself! Thanks!

  2. So many good thrillers! I’m really excited for The Child, The Breakdown, and I See You since I loved all three authors’ previous books! I never knew that Megan Miranda was coming out with another book! I loved All the Missing Girls, so I’ll probably love her new book. The Fall of Lisa Bellow and The Widow’s House look really good!

  3. I just finished The Girl Before. Holy cats! I was not expecting it to be THAT GOOD. Almost every book I have read that released this month has been fantastic. If this is a sign of the books to come, it is going to be a stellar year in publishing!

Leave a Reply

