Uncategorized

the saturday six.

• um mini matcha donuts with matcha glaze?! Nutrition Stripped GETS me.

Is sitting the new smoking? No lie I go into hibernation mode the second the temperature drops below 60. The article is short, only two pages, and is really fascinating (read: terrifying). Losing four hours of sleep is comparable to drinking a six-pack of beer and researchers found that sitting more than six hours in a day will greatly increase your risk of an early death.

• Lately I’ve been trying to get into the habit of using dish towels rather than paper towels, bring my own bags to the grocery store, etc. I’m probably way late to the game, but this week I discovered Bee’s Wrap. Mighty Nest has several sizes available and range from $9.99 – $17.99, which is a bit pricier than plastic wrap, but this reusable alternative wins out in the end! The sheets are made with beeswax and tree resin and I’m VERY interested! When I cook or do meal prep I prefer to make larger batches so packing lunch for the following day or two is easy peasy. Bee’s Wrap would definitely come in handy!

Powell’s sent a box of books to both President Obama and Donald Trump. The books were hand-selected and the reasoning behind each pick was extremely intriguing. They range from the serious (Just Mercy for Trump, The Undoing Project for Obama) to picks that are just plain entertaining and refreshing (Before the Fall for Trump, My Beer Year for Obama). Really interesting lists and hopefully Trump will actually read his picks – All the Single Ladies, The Sixth Extinction, etc.

• I’m not much of a tv person, but lately I’ve become obsessed with Murdoch Mysteries, a Canadian period drama set in Toronto in the late 1890s. I’m an episode away from season 4 and man oh man I’m loving it. Matt even enjoys it too! The characters are fantastic, the story is great, and the mysteries are so fun. Famous figures from that time period even drop in (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Tesla). I highly recommend it!

• I don’t know how it happened and I never want to do this again, but in 2016 I read 200 books. I typically do over 100 (2015 saw 133 books), but last year I kicked it into overdrive and UGH. This year I want to focus on enjoying reading rather than aiming for numbers. Quality over quantity! Though I have some review copies I’m really excited about, I want to take the time to read books of my own choosing and I recently grabbed a fun, totally mindless fluff read from my library: Bad Days in History by Michael Farquhar and the subtitle says it all, A Gleefully Grim Chronicle of Misfortune, Mayhem, and Misery for Every Day of the Year. This kind of book is what I consider to be bathroom material, stories or tidbits just a few paragraphs long. Even here I’ve been pacing myself: I’m reading a chapter (month) at a time.

7 thoughts on “the saturday six.

Leave a Reply

