December 2016 recap


WHAT I…DID

• My grandfather and I took my nieces downtown to Pittsburgh’s Carnegie Science Center and I think I had more fun than they did! I absolutely love visiting the exhibits – they’re constantly changing, so there’s always something new to experience. This time we learned about weather (I am a total weather nerd!); robots; toured an exhibit of the body, complete with actual bodies donated to science; and explored the center’s pride and joy: the miniature railroad.

• An offhand remark on a facebook status led to my friends starting a bookclub! Our first pick was YOU by Caroline Kepnes. Have you read it?? Our next meeting is in a few weeks and we’ll be discussing The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters!

• My brother’s band played their second show and, once again, it was awesome. This time they included a new song they’ve been working on and I loved it!

• One of my friends is an absolute wonder in the kitchen. She hosted a high tea and it was SO much fun! Fancy dresses and hats, homemade scones and clotted cream, the whole works.

• A haunting graphic novel held a beautiful surprise inside.

• It was seriously down to the last minute, but I ended up reading 200 books in 2016! My original goal was 100 and when I reached that in June, I toyed with the idea of using the next six months to do it all over again…not believing I would. Yikes. Never again.

• My family celebrates both Christmas and Hanukkah and I wound up taking the final two weeks of the year off from the blog. It certainly made for a paltry recap, but it was wonderful spending time with family and relaxing!

WHAT I…REVIEWED

WHILE THE DUKE WAS SLEEPING BY SOPHIE JORDAN only further solidified my love for historical fiction. A bonkers premise: a shopgirl rescues a duke from impending doom and accompanies his unconscious body back to his estate where she’s presumed to be his fiancée, but the story was so fun I went right along with it. Naturally there’s the estranged-brother-with-a-grudge and a romance quickly blooms, all the while Poppy is still keeping up the lie that she’s going to be wed to the duke. Ridiculously fun and a brilliant start to a new series!

DECEMBER’S MINI-REVIEW ROUND UP includes only ONE story I enjoyed (and that was a short story). Sadly, the other three books mentioned in this post were disappointing duds or books so terrible I saw red. It definitely didn’t help matters that several sounded practically MADE for me.

WHAT I…BLOGGED

BANANA WALNUT HONEY POWER BITES

19 SERIES FOR ME TO READ THIS WINTER (PART 1: ADULT)

19 SERIES FOR ME TO READ THIS WINTER (PART 2: YA)

WEEKLY WRAP-UP 12/4
WEEKLY WRAP-UP 12/11
WEEKLY WRAP-UP 12/18

3 thoughts on “December 2016 recap

  1. Michelle says:

    I love interactive museums like that. Unfortunately, my kids were never all that into them so we didn’t visit as much as I would have liked. It sounds like you had a blast!

    You is an AMAZING book. I can only imagine the discussions about it.

    The high tea sounds so fun! I have always wanted to do one like that with friends. Maybe I will have to add it to my to-do list for 2017.

    I hope you had a lovely holiday season and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

