Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 1/1: happy new year!

↠ I took the final two weeks of 2016 off to rest, relax, and recharge. I’m thrilled to see where my blogging will go in 2017 and already I have a few ideas in the works (already I’ve started mixing in several non-book related posts, like this one about booties I’m loving and recipes including one of my go-to vegan meals and power bites).

↠ If you follow me on instagram, you’ve already seen this, but I recently grabbed a graphic novel from my library and had a lovely surprise waiting for me inside. The book was Trinity, focusing on the history of the Manhattan Project and the making of the first atomic bomb. Tucked inside was a card with a beautiful, poignant quote from Gahndi.

↠ My reading goal for 2016 was 100 books and I ended up reaching that by June. whoops. Obviously I continued reading and thought, wouldn’t it be awesome to double it and reach 200? I did and I don’t think I will ever do it again ha.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? The only post was for December mini-reviews. Thank God for Lisa Gardner, you guys, because everything else was terrible.

The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth
Back in 2015 I read Hepworth’s debut, The Secrets of Midwives and back in September received an ARC of her upcoming A Mother’s Promise. The Things We Keep was her 2016 novel, soon-to-be released in softcover later this month. I have a feeling this one will be extremely emotional: a woman in her 30s is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s and has been moved into an assisted living facility. That alone is enough to tell me this book will make me cry. Just to make it even more heartbreaking, the woman begins to fall in love with another resident and struggles to keep that relationship going as her disease begins to take over. I have a feeling you’re going to owe me several boxes of tissues, St. Martin’s Press! Thank you!

As Red As Blood by Salla Simukka
This book is being pitched as Steig Larsson for teens and I think it’s big selling point for me is how interested Matt seemed as I was reading the summary. He isn’t a reader…at all, so for him to be so intrigued is definitely saying something! There’s a drug lord and a money laundering operation taking place in the main character’s school. VERY curious about this one! Thank you, Crown!

The Original Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig
Clearly 2017 is going to be the year I tackle heavy-topic books. Ginny Moon is 14 and has finally found her forever home after years spent going from foster parent to foster parent. She finally has a loving family…but when is she so determined to get back to her abusive, drug-addicted mother? Add in Ginny’s autism and I think Park Row Books is in cahoots with St. Martin’s! Double the tissues, please. Thank you!

The Innkeeper’s Sister by Linda Goodnight
Honey Ridge, Tennessee. Grayson Blake has plans to convert an old gristmill into a restaurant, only to put his dream on pause after the excavation of a skeleton brings to light a Civil War mystery. Valery Carter was once a ballet dancer, but now owns the Peach Orchard Inn. She has a past with Grayson that she can’t shake, especially not now that they’ve been thrown together once more. Um, Civil War mystery?? Yes, please! Thank you, Harlequin!

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
A woman awakens to find she’s been transported back to 1921, reunited with the husband she lost. Not a lot to go on, but there’s a lighthouse, a swoony time travel romance, and this book is being compared to Kate Morton. Sold! Thank you, Mira!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 1/1: happy new year!

    1. Thank you! Happy New Year to you as well xo!

      HA, my goal for this year is nowhere near 200! That was a total fluke and will probably never happen again.

Leave a Reply

