Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 12/18

↠ Talk about a whirlwind week! It was a mix of highs (a birthdays) and lows (a funeral) mixed with Christmas shopping and a job-related thing that I might discuss in further detail soon~ /vague

READING REPORT Last week I was at 182 books read for the year with 124 written by women, 58 written by men. Today I’m at 187 books read with 126 by women and 61 by men.

WHAT I FINISHED I’m really loving the Delilah Dirk series and grabbed the second graphic novel as well as a short side story. I also read a Hercule Poirot short story, Four and Twenty Blackbirds. Unfortunately, that’s where the good ended. The other two books I read this week were awful: Two Days Gone by Randall Silvis and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti. Ugh.

CURRENTLY READING I’m still listening to Ken Liu’s The Grace of Kings and it’s so long but I’m enjoying it! High fantasy, intrigue, a child emperor who gets overthrown, romance, this book has it all.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? This week I did a two-part post featuring 19 series I want to read this winter. The first part highlights adult series while the second focuses on YA. Have you read any of these??

Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner
Back in October I devoured Lisa’s Find Her and was thrilled to discover she had a new novel in the works! Right Behind You tells the story of a little girl about to be adopted by Quincy and Rainie, the two leads of the series. When the girl was only 5 her older brother beat their alcoholic and abusive father to death. After eight years the girl has finally moved on and is about to be brought into a loving home…until Quincy and Rainie receive a call about a double murder with the armed suspect now on the loose…a suspect who might very well be their new daughter’s older brother. REALLY looking forward to this one! Thank you, Dutton!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 12/18

Leave a Reply

