Uncategorized

19 series for me to read this winter (part 2: YA)

Yesterday I shared the adult series I hope to snuggle up with this winter. Today I’m sharing the YA series I’d love to read (or revisit)!

dr
The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper | 5 books

Last week I devoured the first book on audio (the magnificent Alex Jennings narrates!) and am seriously tempted to listen to the rest of the series! This is one of those series – as are a good number of the others mentioned in this post – that I wish I would have read as a child, if only because, now that I’ve finally gotten around to it, I’m realized just what I missed! This series is a retelling of/heavily inspired by the legend of King Arthur as siblings uncover a mysterious map. Good and Evil clash, there’s a wise old uncle, everything about the first book was lovely and I desperately need to get my hands on copies of the next four!

cc
Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones | 7 books

Back in 2013, I wrote a post about Diana Wynne Jones. If you were anything like I was as a child, you can easily rattle off names of authors who completely changed your life and made you the reader you are today. DWJ is one of those authors and I remember hearing of her passing – it hit hard. Chrestomanci is one of my all-time FAVORITE series; back when I was a bookseller, it was one of my go-to recommendations for anyone, adult or child. I even pushed it on several coworkers and friends (they all loved it btw ♥). I’m not the type of reader who needs to own multiple copies of books, but I own several of each volume – and there are copies at my mom’s house too! These books are the definition of comfort read.

cw1
Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness | 3 books

Here’s the deal: I won the first book (and the found the other book for a ridiculous bargain). Despite the hype and the years’ worth of praise, I’m a little hesitant to read these. …I don’t have a very good track record with dystopian novels (nor do I particularly like them) but I own the series AND have honestly heard nothing but wonderful things, so I’m willing to give it a go! Plus, Ness wrote A Monster Calls and that book broke me.

eh
Enola Holmes by Nancy Springer | 6 books

Sherlock’s little sister, y’all. Back in 2011 (on my birthday, coincidentally enough) I fell in love with the first book. It was exactly what I needed to get me through a sick day in bed, but it was also more than just a fluffy story. There’s a wonderful sibling dynamic (Mycroft and Sherlock are both much older than Enola and barely know her), Enola blames herself for her father’s death, her mother has gone missing and – despite what her brothers say – Enola firmly believes she’s the only one up to the task of tracking her down. Such a great book and a series I wholeheartedly look forward to continuing!

lh
The Lion Hunters by Elizabeth Wein | 5 books

Yep, that Elizabeth Wein. Back in February I mentioned this older series, an old school fantasy loosely based on King Arthur (again with the Arthur retellings). Since then I’ve managed to get hold of the first book and have the following four on hold at my library. Jealous brothers and revenge plots, here we come!

qt
The Queen’s Thief by Megan Whalen Turner | 4 books (ongoing)

Another series that I don’t believe has ever had a bad thing said about it! I honestly don’t even know what it’s truly about (a queen and a thief??) and it seems as though it’s a series SO special that reviewers absolutely refuse to post spoilers, so! I got nothin’. It’ll be a total surprise and one I’m definitely excited for.

dm
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman | 3 books

I have never read these books. Ever. Matt, who is NOT a reader, absolutely worships this series and for our very first date, he bought me the books. …well. Years later they’ve developed an impressive amount of dust. BUT I’M DETERMINED TO CHANGE THAT! This winter, I am reading these books. I really have no idea what they’re about (and have not seen the movie) but I’m under the impression that they’re a cozy winter read.

abh
Abhorsen by Garth Nix | 5 books (ongoing??)

After MANY years of hearing just how excellent this series is I finally decided to take the plunge and, back in 2013, grabbed the audio of Sabriel Imagine my surprise when TIM CURRY began speaking!! Much like The Dark is Rising, Abhorsen is DEFINITELY a series to continue on audio! Also, it surpassed every expectation and I kicked myself a little for ignoring it when I was younger.

re
Reckoners by Brandon Sanderson | 3 books

Another series I added because I won copies! Over the past few years Sanderson has become a YA darling with the repackaging of his Mistborn series. While I’m admittedly hesitant to dive into his Stormlight Archive novels (the two currently out are both over 1000 pages eek!), Reckoners seems like a series I can easily handle.

BONUS

I had originally intended on including these two in the post alongside the others, but feel they’re SO well known that giving them their own blurbs is a little redundant: Anne of Green Gables and Little House on the Prairie. Both are series I was MADLY in love with when I was younger and, sadly, never bothered to revisit them. Until now.

5 thoughts on “19 series for me to read this winter (part 2: YA)

  1. YES, giant, flailing YES for the Queen’s Thief series and His Dark Materials!

    If you don’t love the first QT book, read the second before deciding. The first is good, but it’s definitely different from the others and book two takes things to another level.

    HDM, hm, I don’t think I’d call them cozy. They’re dark and emotional in a good way, but also a sad way.

Leave a Reply

