Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 11/6

↠ Wow, talk about a whirlwind of a week! On Halloween, my street lost power. Baylor and I were sitting on the couch and all of a sudden the entire house went dark and silent. Hahaha, there’s nothing like losing power on Halloween to bring to mind every single scary movie I’ve ever watched! I was convinced there would be some Purge-type craziness going on, but no, just a really awful coincidence.

↠ The following day, my brother’s band played their first show! (The IG photo shows them all in their costumes – Alex doesn’t really have long, curly hair, it’s a mask I promise!) Check them out on bandcamp: Sedona.

↠ Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year?? This will be my 8th year (!!) though I’ve only been “officially” keeping track on their site for 3 – let’s be friends!

↠ Who’s watching The Crown?? It was full-on marathon mode for me last night – I was hooked from the first episode!

READING REPORT Last week my total books read for the year was 159 with 110 books written by women, 49 written by men. Today I’m at 164 books read, 112 having been written by women, 52 written by men.

WHAT I FINISHED The first volume of Chilling Adventures of Sabrina was so so fun and definitely put me in a Halloween mood! This is the teenage witch we grew up with, but WAY darker and I loved it. I also read the graphic novel adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere. Needless to say, the book was much better. Marshall Ryan Maresca’s An Import of Intrigue could have been a great way to get into this fantasy series, but it didn’t work for me and in my review below I explained why. I have two 2017 novels under my belt already and that is HUGE for me! Darcey Bell’s A Simple Favor was twisty and thrilling and I can’t wait to discuss it further!! Lastly, Angela Pisel’s With Love From the Inside was a gut-punch of a novel about a mother on death row, her estranged daughter, and the race to uncover new evidence.

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING I have 12 minutes to go in the audiobook of Agatha Christie’s The Mysterious Affair at Styles, the first Hercule Poirot novel!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? I hosted a blog tour stop this week for Marshall Ryan Marecsa’s An Import of Intrigue, the second novel in his The Maradaine Constabulary series. I so wanted this to work out and in the beginning it did: a foreign dignitary is murdered and two unpopular investigators are tasked with getting to the bottom of the case. That sounds like something right up my alley! Unfortunately, the glaringly racist tone and the complete lack of any kind of recap or catch-up for the first novel made it incredibly hard to enjoy. I also did an October recap. There were two really fantastic books…and a whole lot of duds. I also shared several podcasts I’m currently loving as well as fell head over heels for historical romance!

Desire for Chocolate by Care Santos
I don’t read much translated work, but this one has won an award, so that must count for something, right? From what I can tell, Desire for Chocolate features three stories, each one about a woman and her life – which deals with chocolate in some form. There’s a servant who views chocolate as a forbidden pleasure, the scion of a chocolatier dynasty, and the wife of a famous chocolate manufacturer. I’m a little concerned with the fairly low reviews it’s received…and I don’t do well with short stories, but we’ll see how it goes! Thank you, Alma Books!

Caught in the Revolution by Helen Rappaport
And cue the shrieking. Rappaport has written several books on the Romanovs (and one on the British monarchy that I’m now super interested in since becoming obsessed with The Crown!) and her latest focuses on the Russian Revolution – the the eyes of foreign nationals caught in the middle. Bankers, journalists, diplomats, nurses, their diaries and letters provide first-hand accounts to the turmoil and I am SO excited to read this! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 11/6

Leave a Reply

