Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 10/30

↠ Last night was spent snuggling with Bay (aka obnoxiously laying on top of her while she snored) and watching awesomely terrible Lifetime movies. Amish Witches: the True Story of Holmes County premiered last night, followed by the ~documentary~ The Real Amish Witches and I was glued to the television. I grew up in a teensy farm community where the Amish were a part of my everyday life, there was parking for their buggies at stores, one family’s donuts are THE thing to get at our local orchard, so these two movies were completely ridiculous but OH SO FUN.

↠ On Tuesday we had our latest #HistoricalFix chat with special guest Lyndsay Faye, author is the excellent Timothy Wilde series (1850s! New York’s first police force!) and, more recently, Jane Steele, a moody, broody retelling of Jane Eyre with serial killers.

↠ This week I’ve been once again culling my goodreads shelves (back in 2014 I wrote about my first culling) and in doing so, discovered my library’s idea of comparable books is…interesting. One book on my To Read list is Stuart Gibbs’ Space Case, a Middle Grade murder mystery set in space. My library has an ebook available right now (yay) but what it suggested I also read was baffling: Catherine Greenman’s Hooked, a YA pregnancy novel. What??

↠ One of my favorite shops is going out of business and I’m heartbroken! Rosewood has seriously the cutest clothes AND they’ve got an insane sale going on right now. I scored the most amazing dress (you can see the print in this instagram photo) and I’ve been eyeing several other dresses and shirts – and one FANTASTIC winter coat. Retail therapy at its finest. For those of you not in my area, their website has a bunch on online-only pieces (um I need this sweater in my life tyvm).

READING REPORT Last week my books read for the year was 157, with 109 female authors, 48 male authors. Today I’m at 159, with 110 books written by women, 49 written by men.

WHAT I FINISHED I’ve been in a Halloween mood lately and wanted something in their vein when I heard about Oscar Wilde’s The Canterville Ghost, a short novella-esque tale about an American family that moves into a grand English house and the resident ghost who makes it his mission to terrify them. To be honest, I was a little disappointed – reviews kept talking about the humor, and yeah there were a few parts where I cracked a smile, but it was ultimately a letdown. Continuing with disappointing novels, I read Louise Millar’s City of Strangers and my ranty review is linked below.

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING I put my novel on hold yesterday because OMG the first volume of Chilling Adventures of Sabrina arrived at the library!!! And, YES, that Sabrina. HOWEVER, unlike the teenage witch we all know and love, this one is way dark and creepy and I love it. Zelda and Hilda are deliciously dark, Salem is the voice is reason, and Harvey is a total dreamboat. I’m loving it. I’m also reading Darcey Bell’s A Simple Favor, which I mentioned in last week’s wrap-up. This one doesn’t come out until March, but I was so excited for it I couldn’t help it: a stay-at-home blogger’s world is turned upside-down when her best friend (and mother of her son’s best friend) asks her to pick Nicky up from school. No big deal, Stephanie has playdates all the time. …this time, however, Emily doesn’t show up to take Nicky home. And she’s not answering calls or texts. When Stephanie reaches out to her readers for help, she makes a startling discovery and that’s all I’m saying!!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Last weekend I read my first historical fiction novel and fell HARD. That Weekend I Fell in Love With Historical Fiction talks alllll about it and includes more titles I now want to read! ALSO ANY RECS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!! Because one fantastic book was obviously too much to handle, the other reviews this week were duds, starting with The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras. What could have been a good novel lost its potential when it became bogged down with issue after issue. The death of a parent, another parent with cancer, a nude photo scandal, the pressure to ace college exams (and the resulting trip to the hospital), etc etc ETC. There was just too much going on. Louise Millar’s City of Strangers was also a major letdown that especially hit me hard: she wrote one of my absolute favorites. This novel felt like it was written by someone else.

FOR REVIEW
Hell and High Water by Tanya Landman
1750s England. Caleb’s Pa has been convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sentenced to a prison in the colonies. Caleb is sent to live with an aunt he’s never met, but slowly begins to adapt to his new life…until a body washes ashore. A body with an unmistakably familiar face. Thank you, Candlewick!

Who Killed Christopher Goodman? by Allan Wolf
This book about the murder of a high school student is inspired by the brutal killing of one of Wolf’s actual classmates. This novel has multiple narrators – including the killer – and I am VERY intrigued. Thank you, Candlewick!

Maid of the King’s Court by Lucy Worsley
(The title of goodreads is The Other Elizabeth) The only thing I know about this one is that it follows the daughter of a noble family. Elizabeth’s future included a marriage to a wealthy, titled man…until her family’s fortune took a devastating turn. Now she’s employed is the court of Henry the Eighth as a lady-in-waiting. This one is written by a historian so I expect the details will be spot-on! Thank you, Candlewick!

FROM THE LIBRARY
My American Duchess by Eloisa James
My newfound obsession with Eloisa James is STRONG. This was a completely random grab – I honestly wasn’t even looking for anything of hers – but it caught my eye and the waitlist for the ebook is a mile long so YES. A Duke intending on marrying a well-bred Englishwoman. An American heiress infamous for having two jilted fiances. I am SO ready for this.

The Woman on the Orient Express by Lindsay Jayne Ashford
I first mentioned this one last month in a Recently Added post. A novel that features AGATHA CHRISTIE as the main character?! SWOON.

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 10/30

Leave a Reply

