Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 10/16

↠ This weekend has been all about cuddles and breaking out the hoodies! obvious this is still PA though because yesterday the temperature was in the low 30s when we went out our walk, today it was 60.

↠ Last night the news broke that one of my favorite boutiques is closing! Their site is currently down, but the second it’s back up I’ll be sharing links on instagram and twitter – they have the CUTEST clothes and their sale next week will extend to online sales as well, so if you aren’t in my area you can still get in on it!

↠ ALSO last night my DNA results came back! For my birthday Matt got me the Ancestry DNA kit and I’ve been not-so-patiently waiting to hear back! For the most part it’s not surprising (mainly Jewish and Italian with a few others thrown in) though it also said 10% Scandinavian and WHERE did that come from?! So, so cool. My aunt has a huge family tree for my dad’s side and it goes back hundreds of years, but as far as I know we don’t have anything nearly as extensive on my mom’s side. Are YOU into genealogy?? Have you ever had your DNA tested??

READING REPORT Last week my total for the year was 147 books read with 102 female authors, 45 male authors. This week I’m at 152 books read with 105 books by female authors, 47 by male authors.

WHAT I FINISHED Continuing with my graphic novel binge from last week, I read volumes one and two of Cullen Bunn’s Harrow County. This series takes place in the 1910s and, eighteen years prior to that, a woman deemed a witch was brutally murdered by the town. As she was dying, she swore she would one day return and now, sweet Emmy is showing some very odd signs.. I’m really enjoying this series and have the third one from the library – I can’t wait to read it! Dark and moody, absolutely perfect for this time of year. I also read my first novel of 2017, Rachel Hulin’s Hey Harry, Hey Matilda…and was SO disappointed. Tara Eglington’s How to Keep a Boy From Kissing You is reviewed below, as it Jojo Moyes’ Paris for One & Other Stories.

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING I’m a little over halfway through Lisa Gardner’s Find Her and am LOVING it! It easily reads as a standalone and is definitely keeping me guessing.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Tara Eglington’s How to Keep a Boy From Kissing You fails HARD when it comes to the Bechdel Test, but I found myself having a blast while reading it. Yes it’s extremely predictable and reads much younger, but I’m looking forward to the sequel! Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for the latest Jojo Moyes. I ADORE her and have loved every single one of her other novels that I’ve read but Paris for One & Other Stories was far from memorable.

I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi
This debut novel is being compared to Where’d You Go, Bernadette? and Jodi Picoult. A stay-at-home mom commits suicide and leaves her husband and teenage daughter reeling from the loss. Maddy was the backbone of their family, the glue that held them together – how could they possibly move on from this? As they struggle to make sense of things and pick up the pieces, Maddy realizes she isn’t quite ready to let them go and continues to meddle from beyond the grave. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

Den of Wolves by Juliet Marillier
This is the third novel in the Blackthorn & Grim series, a series that has been on my To Read list for AGES. Marillier is a powerhouse in the Fantasy world and I’m ecstatic to have this gorgeous finished copy! I don’t know much about this series other than it’s set in an ancient Ireland where faeries and magic thrive. I think a binge read is in the works! Thank you, Roc!

The Sisters of Blue Mountain by Karen Katchur
I was enormously impressed with Karen’s 2015 debut, The Secrets of Lake Road, and couldn’t contain my excitement when I discovered she has a new book coming out next year! The Sisters of Blue Mountain is another novel about dark pasts and family relationships and as we were talking about it on twitter, Karen graciously offered to send me a copy! I cannot wait to read this one! Thank you, Karen!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 10/16

Leave a Reply

