weekly wrap-up 10/2

↠ This week has been all about my crockpot ♥! Even though it’s still pretty warm (mid 70s here!) I was determined to get into a fall mood and have been making a ton of recipes: Skinnytaste’s Broccoli Cheese and Potato soup is a HUGE hit with Matt and he is not a soup kind of guy.

↠ Yesterday I got caught in the rain while running into the library to return some books. If that wasn’t bad enough my purse strap broke while I was trying to run back to my car. ugh. I decided to treat myself to my favorite juice.

↠ That shirt I’m wearing? It’s from Littlest Warrior and they donate a portion of all sales to special needs families! :) It was a total coincidence I was wearing it yesterday: October is Down Syndrome Awareness Month.

READING REPORT Last week I went on a massive reading spree and knocked out 8 books in a week, bringing my total for the year to 140 books read, with 98 female authors, 42 male authors. By comparison this week looks pathetic: 142 books read with 99 female authors, 43 male authors.

WHAT I FINISHED Nathaniel Philbrick’s In the Heart of the Sea was fascinating (and it was such an awesome surprise when I realized one of my favorite narrators was doing the audio!) It’s about the Essex, a Nantucket whaleship that was attacked by a whale (later serving as the inspiration for Moby Dick) and the three months that followed when the crew were separated, starved, and were driven to cannibalism. I also read Girl Underwater by Claire Kells and my review is linked below!

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING I’ve been slowly chipping away at Sarah Ward’s A Deadly Thaw for a while now and I’m determined to finish today. Back in 2004 a man was murdered by his wife and she was arrested and sent to prison. Fast-forward to 2016 and that same man has turned up once again, this time recently dead. Just who was the first man?

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Girl Underwater by Claire Kells was a hidden gem from 2015 that I’m only just hearing about now! Part survival story, part New Adult, part thriller, this one tells the story of a plane crash and the days spent struggling to stay alive in the Rockies. Each chapter alternates between the past and the present day and I thought it was great, though there were a few flaws. I also did a round-up of September’s mini reviews, including The Hating Game, a YA thriller, a Middle Grade novel about a transgender boy, two memoirs, and a rodeo romance.

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 10/2

  1. Pan says:

    I am SO GLAD you loved “In the Heart of the Sea”! I was so shocked at how much I loved it and it actually almost made me want to read “Moby-Dick” again….until I picked up a copy and then was like, nope. Who did the audio?

Leave a Reply

