Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 8/28

↠ How did YOU celebrate #NationalDogDay?

↠ After our walk one morning we took an impromptu trip to the dog park! Because it was seriously last-minute (aka we didn’t feel like heading home and turned left instead of turning right) we didn’t bring any toys but Bay got to run around for a bit. This dog park is a pretty new addition to the park that’s literally next door (it’s on a hill and if you look down you can see our house!) It was actually built by two girls for their senior project!

↠ Also that morning it felt like fall.

READING REPORT Last week my books for the year was at 119 with 82 written by women, 36 by men. This week I’ve read two more bringing my total to 121. Both were written by women – sorry guys! – so they’re now at 84 while the men are still at 36.

WHAT I FINISHED I finished and reviewed (the link is below) Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, a suspense novel about a couple who leave their baby at home to go to a party next door and discover she’s missing when they return. I also read an October release, One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards. I mentioned this one last month in a GoodReads Recommends post highlighting YA Thrillers! A group of campers discovering something sinister in the woods.

CURRENTLY READING I’ve been flipping through Philip Greene’s To Have and Have Another this week. It’s a Hemingway cocktail companion and while I’m not the biggest drinking, I’m a HUGE Papa fan and the backstories are just plain fun to read. I’m also listening to Felicia Day’s memoir, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost). It came highly recced by a friend after I told her that I really enjoyed Drew Barrymore’s Wildflower and how it felt like Drew was sitting right there in the room with me. Felicia’s is like that too, but with the quirkiness bumped up to 11. At times it feels like she’s trying a teensy bit too hard but it’s a crazy quick read (6 hours on audio!) and she does the narration and I love it when authors read their own work.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? I had crazy high hopes for Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door and, sadly, they fell flat. The idea was phenomenal and super intriguing but Lapena tried to do TOO much with it and eventually the poor baby was forgotten while the focus shifted to the secrets the parents were hiding. There were triple-crosses here, people. It was ridiculous. Bay got to take over the blog for her August BarkBox unboxing! Like always, we loved everything and within minutes the toys were destroyed. I pay too much every month to continue dealing with this :(

The Secret Ingredient of Wishes by Susan Bishop Crispell
Magical Realism is my thing, y’all. 26-year-old Rachel (side note here, weeping that characters in adult novels are younger than me) has a secret: she can make wishes come true. Unfortunately, this sometimes leads to disastrous consequences and after one wish Rachel knows she needs to leave her hometown. She soon finds herself settling down in a small town in North Carolina where she’s taken in by an old woman with secrets of her own, and – best of all – there’s a Southern gentleman. I’m participating in the blog tour for this one, so be sure to check back September 5 for my thoughts! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

The Spice Box Letters by Eve Makis
Pitched at My Big Fat Greek Wedding meets Sarah’s Key, this book spans 1915 Turkey to 1985 Greece. A granddaughter inherits a spice box from her grandmother and it’s filled with letters written in Armenian. Her grandmother refused to talk about her past – her family was exiled from Turkey when she was a girl and later she witnessed the death of her brother. While on vacation in Cyprus, Katerina decides to uncover the mysteries of her family’s past and I am VERY interested! This one has fantastic reviews and now it’s finally being published in the US. Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 8/28

Leave a Reply

