Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/31

nap time is the best time

↠ This week was our one-year anniversary of buying our house!! One year of homeownership down, the rest of our lives to go ♥ To celebrate I surprised Matt with his favorite cake, toasted almond torte. YUM.

READING REPORT Last week I was at 106 books read for the year, 70 written by female authors, 36 written by male authors. I’m currently at 110 books for the years, with 73 written by women while the men are still at 36.

WHAT I FINISHED My girl Agatha Christie is my go-to for mysteries that are quick and oh so entertaining. While on a walk with Bay and my sister, I was in that limbo between books and decided to grab the audio of Crooked House, a murder mystery that kept me guessing until the final reveal. I also listened to K. A. Tucker’s Burying Water, which I was surprisingly obsessed with to the point where I willingly spent two hours doing yardwork just to have an excuse to continue listening to the book! YA and NA are full of stupid characters names and Water is by far the worst, but man that book was great. Finally, I finished Anna Solomon’s Leaving Lucy Pear, a novel that was one of my most anticipated summer releases. While it didn’t quite reach my expectations it was still an enjoyable read – check back next week for my review!

CURRENTLY READING I haven’t started a new print book yet, but I grabbed the audio of Samantha Young’s Echoes of Scotland Street because of my currently New Adult spree (thanks to K. A. Tucker!) I’m still early on, but I’m a total sucker for a Scottish accent, so already it’s scored some major points with me!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Sonya Mukherjee’s Gemini was also one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I’m SO thrilled to say it’s surpassed every expectation. I absolutely loved this book and will without a doubt read whatever Sonya writes next! I also reviewed Serena Burdick’s Girl in the Afternoon, a historical novel full of intrigue and art and forbidden romance. I thought I would enjoy it, but I was totally caught off guard by just how much I fell for this one! Even now the characters are still in my thoughts.

 

Magical Jungle by Johanna Basford
Last month I featured another book of Johanna’s, Lost Ocean, and I couldn’t be more excited about this new book!! Johanna is the queen of the coloring book and I can’t wait to get started with this one! Thank you, Penguin!

The Girl Before by Rena Olsen
Armed men break into Clara’s home and suddenly she’s torn from her husband and daughters. The last thing her husband says to her? Say nothing. I am ALL about twisty psychological thrillers and this one has received some serious buzz! Thank you, Putnam!

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders
This one is being pitched as a book for fans of Agatha Christie, so I’m already sold. The start to a new series, set in Victorian England and featuring a widow who makes a living as a private investigator. Say no more! I love cozies, I love Christie, I can’t wait for the perfect afternoon to settle in with this one. Thank you, Bloomsbury!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/31

Leave a Reply

