weekly wrap-up 7/24

↠ My brother and his band finally released their EP!! I couldn’t be more proud of them! It’s less than the price of a cup of coffee, so head over to itunes and get yourself some new music.

↠ I love Hemingway. I love Roald Dahl. The universe somehow managed to bring them both together in a photo I had never seen before! Happy birthday, Papa!

↠ This week also saw the anniversary of the Romanov assassination. A few years ago I made a Get Your Fix post focusing on the family – fiction, non-fic, it’s all there.

READING REPORT Last week I was at 104 books read for the year, 69 written by women, 35 written by men. This week I’m at 106 books read, with a new tally apiece for both sides: 70 women, 36 men.

WHAT I FINISHED I tore through Sonya Mukherjee’s Gemini in a day. I’ve been talking about this one a LOT since I first heard of it: conjoined twins in their final year of high school, one wants to move away and experience the world, the other wants to stay in their quiet hometown where they no longer get strange looks. I’m so thrilled to say it’s every bit as excellent as I had hoped! I also finished my audio of Stephen King’s Cujo. OMG SO GOOD although I admit I cried more than once ha!

CURRENTLY READING Life got in the way and I had to push back Girl in the Afternoon, so I’m only just now getting to it. Art, France, scandal. Loving it!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? We unboxed our July BarkBox!

Tailored for Trouble by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
I typically don’t receive contemporary romance for review, so when this showed up it was such a pleasant surprise! Summer is the perfect time for a swoony romance, so I’m VERY excited to dive in. After being fired by a ruthless, cold CEO, Taylor started a training program for big shot execs – her course will teach them to become more human, more down-to-earth. What she never expected was for one particular CEO – Bannett, the boss who just fired her – to sign up. Thank you, Ballantine!

Harmony by Carolyn Parkhurst
I received an e-ARC last week and the publicist was awesome and sent a finished copy my way as well. Being lazy and pasting my blurb from last week #sorrynotsorry: A family drama where a daughter begins to exhibit traits of genius, but also social incompetence. With Tilly kicked out of yet another school, her mother Alexandra is out of ideas and turns to a camp retreat with a child behavior guru. I’m especially curious about this one because the book isn’t told through Tilly’s eyes. Instead, her sister is the voice of the novel. Thank you, Pamela Dorman Books!

The Secrets of Flight by Maggie Leffler
I had this one on my To Read list and Maggie came to town this week – the perfect excuse to buy the book, right? World War II, a female pilot, second chances decades later. This is a total Leah read ♥

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/24

Leave a Reply

