Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/17

↠ Earlier this week we celebrated our 11-month adoptionversary! We’re planning on having a big cook-out next month for our one year and it’s been so fun planning it :)

↠ This week we seriously kicked butt on our walks. My sister tagged along Monday through Thursday and it was a blast. Friday we only did half our usual loop, rested on Saturday, and this morning did almost our full route – over 30 miles for the week is not too shabby!

↠ I’ll do a full unboxing post next week, but yesterday we received our July BarkBox box and – spoiler alert – two toys were destroyed within an hour and a half. This morning claimed the third toy :(

READING REPORT Last week I had read 101 books for the year with 66 written by women, 35 written by men. I’m currently at 104 books for the year with 69 books written by women, still 35 written by men. The ladies killed it this week!

WHAT I FINISHED Irina Reyn’s The Imperial Wife was full of Imperial Russia and scandal! While I enjoyed it, it definitely wasn’t as great as I had hoped and there was one storyline I couldn’t wait to get back to – for my full thoughts check out the review linked below! I also finished the audio of Kimberly McCreight’s Where They Found Her and I thought it was EXCELLENT! A baby’s body is discovered on campus grounds and there are multiple narrators – my favorite – and online news articles and who’s baby is it?? The whole thing was so well done and the audio was great. I also finished Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris and it was magnificent and FIVE STARS and I cannot wait to share my review!!

CURRENTLY READING I began the audio of Stephen King’s Cujo and am loooving it ♥ I’ve been waiting forever for it to finally become available at the library (because he was in town recently his stuff has been super popular) and one day I randomly check and sure enough it was there! I immediately pounced and have been devouring it. I also just started Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee. I mentioned it a few months ago in a recently added post and have since been lucky enough to score a review copy! I’m only a few chapters in but I’m fascinated by its premise – conjoined twins are in the senior year of high school and one wants to move away for college while the other wants to stay in their safe little town where everyone knows them and doesn’t treat the pair as freaks – and already the girls’ voices are great and wholly unique.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Irina Reyn’s The Imperial Wife alternates between the present day and 1700s Russia. A medal believing to have belong to Catherine the Great is discovered and the auction house who holds it could be making the biggest sale it’s ever seen. I enjoyed the book but never cared about Tanya’s character. I especially didn’t care about her marriage troubles and instead couldn’t wait to return to Sophie’s story as she leaves her homeland to go to Russia where she’ll be marrying the heir to the country. I also shared a new recently added post and highlight three books that sound excellent!


  

We Are All Made of Stars by Rowan Coleman
A husband recently returned from Afghanistan and suffering from PTSD. A wife who would rather spend all night at the hospice where she’s a nurse. I don’t know much about this book but Rowan has been compared to Jojo Moyes and I have a feeling I’ll be ugly crying. Thank you, Ballantine!

Family Tree by Susan Wiggs
I was contacted about this one and thought it would be the perfect introduction to Susan’s books! Annie has it all: a great job as the producer of a popular cooking show, a loving husband, a beautiful house, and now she’s pregnant with their first child. Everything changes with the accident that leaves Annie in a year-long coma. In an attempt to deal with her grief, Annie moves back to her hometown in Vermont and rediscovers the life she left behind. There’s food, family drama, the whole works and I can’t wait to dive into this one! Thank you, William Morrow!

One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards
I mentioned this one last week in a GoodReads Recommends post and afterwards noticed it was on netgalley! A senior camping trip turned deadly as half the group goes missing and strange words are left behind. This sounds like such a fun read!! Thank you, Sourcebooks!

Harmony by Carolyn Parkhurst
One of my absolute favorite publicists told me about this one and she has hooked me up with some seriously AMAZING books in the past. Another family drama where a daughter begins to exhibit traits of genius, but also social incompetence. With Tilly kicked out of yet another school, her mother Alexandra is out of ideas and turns to a camp retreat with a child behavior guru. I’m especially curious about this one because the book isn’t told through Tilly’s eyes. Instead, her sister is the voice of the novel. Thank you, Pamela Dorman Books!

5 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/17

Leave a Reply

