Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/10

My poor girl was NOT a fan of fireworks, so we stayed in a lot this week. I snuck outside a few times during the show, though, and they were beautiful. (and don’t forget: @baylorthebrindlepittie!)

↠ This week I broke 100 books on my GoodReads goal – honestly shocked, since that was my goal for the year! Naturally it was a Roald Dahl book.

Last week I talked about my Bible app that I’ve been obsessing over. They have a feature where you can create images out of verses and I’ve been having a bit of fun!

↠ Bay and I are now doing 6.5 mile walks and HOO BOY I can feel it!

↠ Last night my LuLaRoe packages arrived!!! I seriously adore this company and their clothes. I’ve been buying a little too much lately, so after this I’m going to hold off a bit, but I don’t feel too bad since I only paid full price for the breast cancer leggings and she threw in a few extra goodies!

READING REPORT Last week I was at 97 books read for the year with 63 written by women, 34 written by men. I’m currently at 101 books for the year with 66 of those books written by women, 35 written by men.

WHAT I FINISHED The male addition was Roald Dahl with Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life, a short story collection. I also read Rachel Caine’s Paper and Fire, which you can read more about in my review below (spoiler, I wasn’t impressed,) Tatiana de Rosnay’s absurd A Paris Affair, another short story collection that I’ll discuss more next week (spoiler, I wasn’t impressed with this one either!) and I listened to the audio of The Other Side of Midnight by Simone St. James, a fun paranormal mystery that took place in the 20s!

CURRENTLY READING After finishing The Other Side of Midnight I instantly started Where They Found Her, the latest by Kimberly McCreight. I’m just about halfway through and am hooked! I’m also reading Irina Reyn’s The Imperial Wife, a dual era novel about Catherine the Great. Check back next week for my review!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Paper and Fire was one of my most anticipated releases of the summer and, sadly, it suffers from Second book Syndrome. Not only did the story go NOWHERE but Caine didn’t provide a recap whatsoever. Really disappointed with the way this book turned out and though I’m still interested in reading the third, I know I definitely won’t be standing in line for a midnight release. I posted my June recap and there were TWO top reads of the year in a single month! Lastly, I posted another round of GoodReads Recommends, this time looking at YA Thrillers. I’m craving them bad, so if you have any recs, I’m all ears!

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/10

  1. My old dog was never a fan of fireworks or thunderstorms. There was a lot of pacing and desire to be as close to us as possible throughout the week (as our neighbors seem to think that the Fourth of July celebration lasts all week long).

    You are doing an amazing job reading this year. Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

