Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/3

↠ Friday The BFG came out and Matt surprised me with tickets. I’m not exaggerating when I say I sobbed the entire movie. There were kids in the row behind us giggling and laughing over the funny parts, quiet during the sad parts, but I sat there for two hours crying my eyes out over every part. Haha, I’m sure I made Matt super uncomfortable, but he knows by now that Roald Dahl is the other man in my life and has been since 3rd grade. Seeing one of my favorite books brought to life was just too overwhelming and absolutely perfect. ♥

↠ Last Sunday both of my sisters had a joint graduation party and it was SUPER fun – although it was also super hot. I probably gained about 50lbs. #noregrets

↠ I’ve become obsessed with my Bible app! There are not only over 1,000 versions and translations of the Bible but there are also a TON of plans compiled by churches, groups, bloggers, musicians, etc. These range from just a few days (one I recently completed was just 4 days, another was 7) to an entire year. My favorite part though, is that every day there’s a new verse of the day.

↠ Bay is definitely my dog – she LOVES to wake up early. A few mornings ago she was up around 5:30 and we headed out for a walk only to discover it was in the 50s! We’ve also been seriously ramping up our exercises. Usually we do a 3-mile loop, but lately we’ve been doing a little over 5 miles a day! I can’t feel my legs anymore.

READING REPORT Last week I was at 94 books read, 61 by women, 33 by men. I’m currently at 97 books read for the year with 63 written by women, 34 written by men!

WHAT I FINISHED Two of the books I finished were on audio: Laurence Yep’s A Dragon’s Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans, which was cute and quick and dragony, plus the narrator had such a lovely voice and Drew Barrymore’s Wildflower, which is less of a memoir and more a series of connected stories about her life from her childhood (there was an avocado tree in the yard of her apartment complex) to when she met Adam Sandler and convinced to him team up with her for a movie to her life as a mom. Drew read the book and she has such an inviting openness about her that it felt as thought we were sitting at the kitchen table sharing a pot of coffee and she was telling me these stories about her life. The one thing I wasn’t too fond of was that she didn’t tell her stories chronologically. In one chapter she would be talking about her kids, in the next she would go on about her childhood pets. In audio form it was a little disorienting, but still enjoyable and, again, quick and easy. I also read Amanda Panitch’s Never Missing, Never Found which I really enjoyed and a link to my review is below!

CURRENTLY READING I feel like I’ve been slogging my way through Paper and Fire forever. I loooved Ink and Bone and was floored when I received a review copy of the sequel, but it’s incredibly dense and after my slew of easy reads I think I’m having a touch time getting back into things! On audio I’m listening to The Other Side of Midnight by Simone St. James, a standalone about a psychic in the 20s who’s called upon to help solve the case of her rival’s disappearance. Really, really fun!!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Amanda Panitch’s Never Missing, Never Found is her follow-up to last year’s debut, Damage Done – which had a twist I did NOT see coming. In NMNF a girl was kidnapped when she was 8 and spent the next seven years acting as a maid for Stepmother, only to be realeased one day and now she’s trying to find her place in her family once again…but then her past resurfaces and it’s such a great, summery read.


 

Girl in the Afternoon by Serena Burdick
I received an ARC of this one a few months ago, but this finished hardcover is beautiful! It’s a slim novel – less than 300 pages – but full of art, forbidden love, and scandal! Check back soon for my review. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Trees by Ali Shaw
Okay, let’s take a minute to stare at that cover, okay?? GORGEOUS. Trees suddenly appeared overnight, turning a suburban neighborhood into a forest with no explanation. An apocalypse novel with a group banded together to discover the cause behind these trees, what can be done, what it all means, etc. I’ve been curious about this one since I first heard of it a year ago! Thank you, Bloomsbury!!

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee
I talked about this one in a Recently Added post a few months ago and was ecstatic when I was approved for a copy on netgalley! Conjoined twins who are about to graduate high school – one wants to stay close to home, the other wants to move away to college. This sounds SO good and I have a feeling I might cry??? Thank you, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers!!

Leaving Lucy Pear by Anna Solomon
In the same post I talked about this novel and how I adore the name Lucy Pear. One of my favorite publicists at Viking recently reached out to me and asked if I’d like a copy! HEART EYES EMOJI. I was too impatient to wait for the mail to arrive – curse you, holiday weekends! – so I jumped all over the e-ARC. Thank you, Viking!!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/3

Leave a Reply

