Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/19

Happy Father’s Day!!!

↠ Earlier in the week a few friends and I went to the most amazing sushi place in town, The Slippery Mermaid. Despite driving past it literally every day it was my first time stopping in and ohhhhmg I’ll be going back FOR SURE! The two rolls I got (the top is the Spicy Squid and the bottom is the Tiger Roll) were phenomenal.

↠ That’s it, I’m a LuLaRoe addict. I initially heard about the company from my cousin and recently my coworkers have been hosting parties and I finally caved and ordered some things. I received the first of my packages Thursday and the leggings are seriously as soft as everyone says. ♥

↠ ALSO, because I am that dogmom, Baylor now has her own instagram account.

READING REPORT Last week I was at 85 books read for the year, 56 by women, 29 by men. Today I’m at 93 books read with 60 books written by women, 33 written by men.

WHAT I FINISHED It was another week of graphic novels! Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant was excellent and so fun and I can’t wait to dive into the next book! I also binged on the first three volumes of Princeless and, while I liked the idea (a young princess locked in a tower decides she doesn’t need a prince to rescue her, she can rescue herself) was great, the quality of the series really went downhill with each volume. From REALLY bad art to inexcusable typos (it’s en garde, NOT on guard) it became a struggle. I LOVE Sparky the dragon but I’m not sure I want to continue reading. Bummer. I also read the AMAZING Amy Snow by Tracy Rees – my ranbly review is linked below! Marie Harte’s Test Drive was a brainfluffy contemporary romance perfect for a lazy summer day, as was Mary McNear’s The Space Between Sisters (my review below.) I also finished the audio of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane after YEARS of my copy gathering dust on my shelf. I should have gone with my gut and read the book rather than listen to the audio – there was a LOT going on and I feel it would have been easier to keep straight if I had the book in my hands.

CURRENTLY READING I’m in the verrrry beginning of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and am enjoying it so far! I’m also reading Megan Miranda’s All the Missing Girls.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Flynn Berry’s debut, the psychological thriller Under the Harrow was great and kept me guessing! There’s been some serious buzz for this book and I’m holding a giveaway so YOU can win a copy!! GIVEAWAY ENDS JUNE 21. I participated in the blog tour for Mary McNear’s The Space Between Sisters and although it’s the fourth book in a series, it easily read as a standalone. Fun, fluffy, a dash of romance, and the bond between sisters. Finally, I FLAILED over Tracy Rees’s Amy Snow, a 600-page doorstop of a novel that follows Amy from when she’s first discovered as an abandoned baby in the snow to when her dearest friend dies and sends her on a treasure hunt. This one was INCREDIBLE and I was completely and utterly immersed in and enchanted by this book.


  

Vita Brevis by Ruth Downie
This is the seventh book in Downie’s Medicus Investigation series and the cover says it’s a crime novel of the Roman Empire, OOH! Thank you, Bloomsbury!

A Paris Affair by Tatiana de Rosnay
A teensy tiny (barely over 100 pages!) short story collection by the author of Sarah’s Key. I’m VERY familiar with de Rosnay’s work, though I haven’t read any of it myself – perhaps this might be the perfect starting point! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti
And the 2017 books are here WHAT. Lizzie Lovett disappeared while camping with her boyfriend and misfit Hawthorn Creely is determined to uncover the truth about what happened. Thank you, Sourcebooks!

How to Keep a Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington
YAY FOR AUSSIE YA! Aurora Skye plays matchmaker for her classmates while completely avoiding the messy world of high school romances herself. There’s a school production of Much Ado About Nothing, a yoga-loving dad, and I’m thinking I’m really going to love this one. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

The Possibility of Somehwere by Julia Day
Ash Gupta is a star student and the apple of his Asian-Indian parents’ eyes. He has his friends, gets excellent grades, and is all around having a great senior year…the only thing standing is his way of the coveted valedictorian role, however, is a foul-mouthed, antisocial girl. Eden needs to be valedictorian in order to make it out of her trailer park. She’s been working tirelessly to maintain her perfect GPA – and the full-ride scholarship should be hers…if it wasn’t for Ash. This makes me think of Lily Anderson’s The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You, one of my favorite YAs this year!! Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 6/19

Leave a Reply

