weekly wrap-up 6/12

↠ Yesterday was our 10-month adoptionversary!!

↠ And equally exciting news: Tuesday was the day that STEPHEN KING CAME TO TOWN!!

↠ Things were a little quiet on the blog last week since I took a bit of time off, but now I’m back and SO pumped for what I’ve got coming up for you guys! (spoiler: GIVEAWAY TIME!)

READING REPORT At my last check-in, I was at 78 books read for the year with 53 written by female authors, 25 written by male authors. I’m currently at 85 books read with 56 by women, 29 by men. It was a little male-centric this week, eep!

WHAT I FINISHED I decided The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl just isn’t for me. The first volume was fun, if a little quirky, but with the second volume I realized there was just too much. Timothy Dwyer’s Hissing Cousins became a 5-STAR READ, one of only 4 this year. At the end of the month I’ll talk more about it in my Top Reads post! I’ve been on a mini-nonfic kick and from there listened to Mariel Hemingway’s Out Came the Sun, her memoir about the history her family has with mental illness. Back in 2014, I talked about her documentary which was so heartbreaking and unflinching and while I definitely loved the book, a lot of her stories/history I already knew from having seen her film. It was interesting to find out some behind-the-scenes moments from her movies, though! Flynn Berry’s Under the Harrow was one of my most anticipated 2016 releases – a woman goes to visit her sister only to find her sister has been brutally murdered – and it didn’t disappoint! Check back next week for my review + a giveaway! Color me a Miranda Beverly-Whittemore fan! June was so so wonderful and my review (aka incoherent rambling!) is linked below. Finally, I listened to the audio of Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts, a novel Stephen King has been pushing hard. A possible possession, the reality series that it results in, and finally the aftermath years later. VERY interesting and I tore through it, but not scary at all – sorry, Mr. King!

WHAT I’M READING I’m listening to The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. It’s been on my To Read list for years (I added it around the time I read The House of Velvet and Glass back in 2012 ack!) I’m nearly halfway through and am enjoying it but it’s not as gripping at Velvet snd Glass was.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? As I mentioned above, I LOVED June, a novel full of family secrets and old school Hollywood. A young woman in the present day receives the surprise of a lifetime when it’s announced she’s the sole inheritor of a famous actor’s $37 million fortune. Why? He’s convinced she’s his granddaughter. From there the story bounces back and forth between 2015 and the 1950s when Hollywood descended on a tiny Ohio town for the summer. So, so beautiful. I recapped May and there are lots of dogs + ducks. Lastly, in postcards + passports I do a little armchair travelling!

FOR REVIEW
All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
I already have an ARC but this hardcover is loooovely! I’ll be reviewing this one soon, so keep an eye out! Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

Never Missing, Never Found by Amanda Panitch
I hadn’t heard of this book before, but Panitch wrote Damage Done, a novel I read last year and REALLY enjoyed! This is another thriller and I am super excited to dive in! Thank you, Random House Books for Young Readers!

News of the World by Paulette Jiles
This one takes place in the aftermath of the Civil War and I am already sold. Captain Kidd spends his days traveling through Texas to give readings of the newspaper to audiences. While in Wichita Falls he’s offered a $50 gold piece to reunite an orphan (who had been captured by the Kiowa) with her family. The girl, however, has all but given up her ‘civilized’ ways, refusing to speak English, remains barefoot, and makes several escape attempts. When her relatives deem her an unwanted burden, Kidd must make the decision to abandon her or become a kidnapper. Thank you, William Morrow!

The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine
UM YES. Paris, 1909, chocolate, forbidden love! Eighty years later a photograph is discovered with the message ‘forgive me’ scribbled on the back. The added bonus of being compared to Kate Morton only has me wanting this one even more!! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 6/12

Leave a Reply

