Uncategorized

10 (more) upcoming releases I need to get my hands on!

Back in February, I highlighted 10 (eleven, whoops) novels that I desperately wanted to read. Like, now. Today I have 10 more novels that make me all starry-eyed!

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty | July 26, 2016
Let’s be real here: Liane could write a phonebook and I’d show up for the midnight release.

THAT SAID, Truly Madly Guilty obvs sounds excellent (in a surprise to no one): six adult, three children, a dog, and a barbecue that changes everything. Clementine and Erika have always been best friends, so when Erika invites Clementine and her husband over for a cookout with another couple, Clementine doesn’t hesitate for a second. Two months later, Clementine and Sam wonder if things would have been different if they had stayed home that night.

WHAT HAPPENED?! I need to know!

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn | July 5, 2016
Evie’s the personal assistant to Aveda Jupiter, her bestie and San Francisco’s most beloved superhero. While Evie isn’t so great at managing her own life, she’s a pro at her job – from dealing with Aveda’s mega diva tantrums to getting demon blood out of clothing.

One night Evie is forced to pose as Aveda and it’s then that her deepest secret come out: Evie has powers too. Suddenly her world is flipped upside down as she deals with the overnight attention – and a demonic invasion.

UM DOES THIS SOUND AWESOME OR WHAT?! Also, Asian-American superheroes.

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware | July 19, 2016
Lo is a journalist for a travel magazine and she’s just been given the ultimate assignment: a week on an exclusive cruiseship. At first, things are every bit as amazing as Lo expected: gorgeous water surrounds her, the sun is shining, the dinner parties are magical. By the end of the week, however, things take a turn as grey skies move in and a chill descends.

When Lo witnesses a woman being thrown overboard, she realizes something is very wrong – she knows what she saw, but everyone is accounted for, and the ship sails on as though nothing happened.

This is the follow-up to Ruth’s In a Dark, Dark Wood and it sounds excellent. I especially love how it’s being described as ‘claustrophobic’ the perfect description for a book told on a ship in the middle of the sea!

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee | August 30, 2016
I grabbed an e-ARC of this one earlier in the week and I know pretty much nothing about it other than it takes place in the future in a thousand-story skyscraper in Manhattan and a scandal erupts when a woman falls from the very top.

…and that’s really all I need to know. It’s also labeled as dystopian, which isn’t a genre I’m really into, but I’m intrigued enough to give it a shot!

(a HUGE thank you to HarperCollins, btw, for the ARC!)

The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day | September 6, 2016
Ash Gupta is a star student and the apple of his Asian-Indian parents’ eyes. He has his friends, gets excellent grades, and is all around having a great senior year…the only thing standing is his way of the coveted valedictorian role, however, is a foul-mouthed, antisocial girl.

Eden needs to be valedictorian in order to make it out of her trailer park. She’s been working tirelessly to maintain her perfect GPA – and the full-ride scholarship should be hers…if it wasn’t for Ash.

This one sounds SO cute and reminds me of Lily Anderson’s The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You, one of my favorite YAs so far this year! Somewhere is even published by St. Martin’s Griffin! I’m a huge fan of romances that start with a rivalry and this one sounds fantastic.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake | September 20, 2016
Every generation, a set of triplets is born and immediately the babies are separated, raised in different families. On their sixteenth birthday, the triplets are reunited and must battle (to the death) to be crowned Queen.

I haven’t read any of Blake’s other novels, but this one sounds so dark and gory – totally a Me book! It also features magic, but in a twist, two of the triplets haven’t seen any powers manifest!

(another HUGE thank you to HarperTeen for an e-ARC – I can’t wait to dive into this one!)

Yesternight by Cat Winters | October 4, 2016
AAHHH A NEW CAT WINTERS NOVEL!

1925, Oregon. Alice is a trained psychologist and heads to a rural town to perform IQ tests on the schoolchildren. Seven-year-old Janie is a mathematical genius – not surprisingly to Alice. What does surprise her, however, is when Janie begins telling stories. Stories about how her real name is Violet, that she lived in Kansas, how she drowned when she was nineteen. Alice initially thinks nothing of these stories, that they’re simply to product of an overactive imagination. Over time, Alice slowly begins to wonder if there might be some truth to Janie’s stories…

I am SO about reincarnation and the second I heard about this book I knew it was one I needed in my life! Come on, October!

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria | October 11, 2016
Boston, 1919. Hemopaths (people whose blood allows them to create illusions thorugh art) perform for crowds. Two such performers, Corinne and Ada, work for a notorious gangster. When a job goes wrong, Ada is imprisoned and shortly after she’s released the gangster they work for disappears. Suddenly the law is on their tail and Ada and Corinne must hunt down some answers.

Another novel I don’t know much about, but gangsters! Jazz Age! Fantasy!!

Also, talk about a gorgeous cover ♥!

League of Archers by Eva Howard | December 6, 2016
A Middle Grade novel about a girl who accidentally kills Robin Hood. YES.

Elinor is a twelve-year-old novice nun and has always idolized Robin Hood. She and her friends have even banded together to do a little of their own ‘stealing from the rich’ under the cover of the League of Archers. One night while on a hunting excursion, Elinor comes across a man who has been shot by a poison arrow. Before she’s able to save him and take him back to the nunnery, he dies. Before he passes, he reveals two secrets: he is Robin Hood and the abbess is his beloved Maid Marian.

When word gets out that their hero has died at the hand of a child (the story the evil Baron has started) a mob forms, determined to take vengeance on Elinor.

MY HEART!

Girl in Disguise by Greer Macallister | March 1, 2017
Okay, okay. March is a still pretty fara away, but how could I not include this one?! I adore Greer – she’s a frequent chatter at our HistoricalFix chats and is just a lovely person.

Her second novel sounds like she pretty much wrote it for me: the Civil War, the real life story of the first female Pinkerton detective. I don’t know much more apart from that, but already I’m fascinated!

6 thoughts on “10 (more) upcoming releases I need to get my hands on!

  1. I cannot wait for Truly Madly Guilty although I just found out about it this week. Where was I living? Seriously! I got The Thousandth Floor at BEA, and I also know nothing about it. I heard a publisher say it was her favorite of their fall catalog, so I snagged it. Happy Reading!

  2. Your list is very similar to mine. I missed getting a copy of The Thousandth Floor but it is already on my wishlist of books I want to get once it releases!

Leave a Reply

