Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 5/15

↠ I didn’t do a wrap-up post last week because of Mother’s Day! Every year my entire family (plus the in-laws) do Pittsburgh’s Race for the Cure – have you ever done it?? :) I posted a few pictures on instagram!

↠ I also went to the vegan festival that I’ve been gushing over for MONTHS! It was everything I had hoped for and then some! My absolute favorite vendor was Onion Maiden (their Kimmy Gibbler hotdog was to die for!) and Piccadilly’s ice cream was made with liquid nitrogen. Such an awesome event and I’ll for sure be going to the next one in August!

↠ Earlier this week was our 9-month adoptionversary and I can’t believe it’s been that long! ♥ She’s definitely my baby.

↠ Bay and I have been getting up extra early to go on our walks now that the weather is nice and warm! The best part? Coming home and listening to nature wake up. The photo above is the view from my backyard and there’s honestly nothing better than sitting on my porch with a big cup of coffee and listening to the birds. Deer love playing in our yard and recently a turkey strolled through too!

READING REPORT Technically this is a two-week report, since my last wrap-up was on the 1st. The last time I checked in I was at 66 books read for the year with 45 written by women and 21 written by males. I’m currently at 72 books read with 49 books written by female authors and 23 written by male authors!

WHAT I FINISHED Two books I finished (Hannah Dennison’s A Killer Ball at Honeychurch Hall and Laura Dave’s Eight Hundred Grapes were also reviewed, so check the links below for my full thoughts! Claire Legrand’s Some Kind of Happiness absolutely broke my heart in the best way possible and Teresa Toten’s Beware that Girl (more info below!) was very fun and a super fast-paced thriller. You all know I adore Roald Dahl and I spent some time with More About Boy, one of his autobiographies and I absolutely loved it. I had never read it before and the look inside his early life was fascinating! Lastly, Ed Gray’s Left in the Wind was supposed to be a historical fiction novel about Roanoke…instead it was basically 1580s New World erotica. I’ll be sharing a mini review soon, but seriously, don’t waste your time with this one.

WHAT I’M READING I’m this close to finishing my audio of Terry Pratchett’s Dodger! I’ll be a little sad to say goodbye :(

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? There was a lot going on around here! I read my very first Jude Deveraux and loved it: The Girl from Summer Hill is a modern retelling of Pride & Prejudice and it was seriously fantastic. Fun and funny with a super swoony romance! I love Hannah Dennison’s Honeychurch Hall mystery series and it just keeps getting better with each book! In A Killer Ball at Honeychurch Hall, a body is discovered in a hidden room and secrets from the past come bubbling to the surface. Hannah was also kind enough to do a guest post and shared her inspiration behind the series! I looked back on April in my April recap. While Laura Dave’s Eight Hundred Grapes was a short book, I wasn’t in love with it. Every single person in the family has some Issue they’re dealing with and no one has the backbone to make a decision. Each character is so wishy-washy I couldn’t get behind any of them and certainly didn’t care about their problems. I love geeky, nerdy romances and HOLY MOLY Lily Anderson is awesome. The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You is chockful of fandom references and has one of my guilty pleasure tropes (a romance that initially begins as a rivalry ♥!) I truly cannot say enough about this one. GO READ IT! Finally, Mary Kubica is back and better than ever. Don’t You Cry had me completely HOOKED from the very beginning and when the ending comes it’s like being hit by a train. LOVE!


  
 

FROM THE LIBRARY
In Bitter Chill by Sarah Ward
In the 1970s in England, two schoolgirls are kidnapped and one is later found unharmed, but can’t remember anything about the person who took her. Thirty years later, the mother of the other (still missing) girl commits suicide. The case is reopened in an attempt to see what modern technology has to offer. Rachel, the girl who had been found unharmed, is now an adult and willing to aid in the investigation, though she’s still unable to remember anything. Once the case makes the national news, however, an old school teacher is found strangled and, with the mother’s suicide still fresh in everyone’s mind, police begin to wonder if they’re connected. I love murder mysteries, I love English police forces. I can’t wait to dive in!

The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer
A mother’s worst nightmare comes true when her 8-year-old daughter wanders away from her. I honestly don’t know much more apart from that single sentence, but the book alternates between narratives (the mother’s and the daughter’s) and I’m looking forward to it!

FOR REVIEW
Untethered by Julie Lawson Timmer
This book was completely unknown to me when it arrived recently. Char, a college professor, wife, and stepmother, loves her life and the home she’s created. When her husband suddenly dies in an accident, everything Char knew is calling into question – particularly the step part of her relationship with Allie and the biological mother who wants to be back in the picture. I’m interested in the ‘domestic suspense’ label and this seems like a great break from some of the genres I’ve been focused on lately. Thank you, Putnam!

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris
THE It book of the summer! I recently received an e-ARC of this one and practically lost my mind once a physical copy arrived! A psychological thriller on par with Girl on the Train and The Silent Wife. I’m DEFINITELY planning to set aside a weekend where I can fully immerse myself in this story! Thank you, St. Martin’s!

Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten
I received this one early this week and already read it, so that alone should tell you something! A Gone Girl, Hitchcockian YA psychological thriller that read lightning-fast. Be sure to check back soon for my full thoughts! Thank you, Delacorte!

The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda
I’m starting to think Megan Miranda is a robot. She’s been churning out thriller after thriller in practically no time at all! This one comes out next week and her first adult novel (another book I recently received and am VERY much looking forward to!) comes out in June. The Safest Lies is slightly reminiscent of Room – Kelsey’s mother was kidnapped while pregnant and hasn’t stepped foot outside since. When her mother suddenly goes missing, Kelsey must face her deepest fears – and the truth. Thank you, Crown Books for Young Readers!

AbrakaPOW by Isaiah Campbell
A Middle Grade novel – based on true events – about an 11-year-old magician and the tricks she must use to recapture Nazi POWs who escaped a West Texas prison. Um, YES PLEASE. Thank you, Simon & Schuster!)

City of Strangers by Louise Millar
I love Millar and actually first talked about this one back in February when I shared 10 upcoming novels I NEEDED in my life. By now, Millar is one of those authors who I’ll read without even knowing what the book is about – but this one sounds so good anyway! Grace and Mac return from their honeymoon to discover a man dead in their apartment. They have no idea who he is or where he came from. Three months later, Grace finds a note tucked inside one of the wedding gifts that sends her on a hunt to find out what really happened in the apartment that night. Thank you, Atria!

A Deadly Affection by Cuyler Overholt
I’m a sucker for a good historical mystery and this one has my name written all over it! New York, 1907. A psychiatrist must prove her patient’s innocence or risk being charged as an accomplice in a gruesome murder. Yessss. Thank you, Sourcebooks!

Reckless in Texas by Kari Lynn Dell
Because sometimes you just need a cowboy rodeo romance. Summer’s on its way and those hazy, lazy evenings are perfect for contemporary romances! Thank you, Sourcebooks!

Roadside Assistance by Marie Harte
Summer nights are also for tattooed mechanics! Thank you, Sourcebooks!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 5/15

Leave a Reply

