Uncategorized

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica
Pub. Date: May 17, 2016
Source: e-ARC via netgalley (Thank you, MIRA!)
Summary: In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn Collins to wonder where Esther is and whether or not she’s the person Quinn thought she knew.

Meanwhile, in a small Michigan harbor town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her charm and beauty, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more dark and sinister than he ever expected.

As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under Pearl’s spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us in the end.
Genre: Contemporary, Thriller

Last year I devoured Pretty Baby, an edge-of-your-seat, stay-up-past-your-bedtime ride (that left me a little disappointed with the ending.) HOWEVER, the moment I heard about Don’t You Cry I knew it was a book I needed in my life and the moment I scored a copy I settled in.

Esther Vaughan walks into Quinn’s life after Quinn responds to an ad Esther placed seeking a roommate. While they aren’t bestie overnight, they get along well enough while still maintaining certain boundaries (Esther’s cupboard of spices and trendy flour is arranged a certain way and must never be touched.) When Esther doesn’t return home one night, Quinn doesn’t think too much of it…but as the days progress and it’s apparent Esther has vanished, Quinn does a little snooping and discovers her roommate isn’t exactly who she thought she was.

Just as Ether disappears, a young woman named Pearl shows up in a Michigan coffee shop, immediately catching the eye of 18-year-old Alex. Interwoven with Alex’s meeting Pearl is Ingrid, a woman who suffered a terrible panic attack one day and has since refused to leave the house (Alex does her shopping for her) and local lore about a haunted house and the little girl who is said to still haunt its walls.

While it might seem like Don’t You Cry is a slow, unassuming novel with multiple (seemingly unlinked) storylines, Mary Kubica rolls up her sleeves and shows the reader just what she can do. Immediately I was hooked and once Saint Esther (sweet Esther who sings in the church choir and volunteers whenever she’s available) fled the apartment I knew I wasn’t going anywhere until I found out what happened.

Going back and forth between Quinn and Alex, the reader doesn’t really get a feel for who the real Esther is until the very ending when Kubica pulls all the stops and the storylines meet. She is an absolute master at this and I’m purposely remaining vague – trust me, you do NOT want this one spoiled!

Although I was just as hooked on Pretty Baby, the sharp detour at the end left me wanting. With Don’t You Cry, however, I was there until the very last word. I almost – almost – want to hold off on reading Kubica’s debut, The Good Girl, just so there will still be a fresh, unread novel waiting for me. Don’t You Cry was excellent and had me guessing right up to the final pages.

3 thoughts on “Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

Leave a Reply

