Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 5/1

HELLO, MAY! How are we already five months into 2016?? April ended on a pretty quiet note (not complaining!) so this week’s wrap-up will be super short!

I voted! It’s ridiculously quick and easy and your voice matters – get out there and do your part!

READING REPORT Last week I was at 63 books read for the year, with 42 written by female authors, 21 written by male authors. This week the ladies jumped even further ahead: I’m currently at 66 books read and all three I finished were written by women! The men are still at 21, the women bumped up to 45!

WHAT I FINISHED Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen (a link to my review is below) was gorgeous. I finished the audio of A.S.A Harrison’s The Silent Wife, a novel I’ve been wanting to read for a few years after hearing it was a fantastic psychological thriller. Unfortunately, the ‘psychological’ part came from the fact that the MC was a psychologist and there were no thrills whatsoever. In the end I was left wondering what the point of the whole thing was. I also finished Sandra Block’s The Girl Without a Name, a novel following a young psychiatrist as she does a residency at the hospital and the mystery that ensues when a young girl arrives in a catatonic state and can’t tell anyone her name or what happened to her. I really enjoyed this one, though I have a feeling the narration style might not work for everyone.

WHAT I’M READING After my recent kick of dark and gloomy murder mysteries, I wanted something light and fun and picked up the audio of Terry Pratchett’s Dodger, a historical novel featuring a 17-year-old street urchin and his run-ins with Sweeney Todd and Charles Dickens. I’m only 10% in, but it’s Terry Pratchett, so of obvs I’m loving it and the narration is EXCELLENT. Last night I wrapped up the last book I was in the middle of, so I’m currently in that weird limbo between novels!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? It was a quiet week in real life and it was a quiet week on the blog too. Just one review went up, but it was SUCH a good book: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi is heavily based on Indian mythology and folklore and I read the entire book in a single sitting. It certainly didn’t hurt that Chokshi’s writing was phenomenal – lyrical and magical and I inhaled this novel!

FROM THE LIBRARY
Vicious by V.E. Schwab
After the flurry of last week’s ARCs, it’s nice to have a week where my only new book is one I picked up for myself. I actually have never read a single novel of Victoria’s, though I’ve had SO many on my TBR list for ages. Vicious was a total impulse grab and I’m ecstatic! Superhero-esque abilities, college roommates-turned-enemies, antiheroes, everything about this book screams my name (plus it’s got some pretty fantastic reviews from so many friends!)

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 5/1

Leave a Reply

