Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up: two week edition!

Stephen King tickets went on sale last Sunday and the line was insane! It stretched completely around the block and while people were still in line there were already scalpers walking around ugh. The sale didn’t start until 11am, but the first girl in line had been standing there since 1pm the previous day! Obviously they sold out in just a few hours!

↠ Our farmers market is back and I discovered an awesome local ice cream company! We taste-tested a bunch of flavors including salty goal caramel (made with goat milk,) olive oil, and espresso. But the moment I saw they had a honey peanut butter flavor, I was sold! DELISH ♥

↠ Lately I’ve been on a cooking kick and have been trying out a bunch of vegan recipes! My favorite so far? This AMAZING General Tso’s!! Yeah I don’t think I’ll be buying take-out any time soon :)

↠ Because of the gorgeous weather we’ve been having, Bay and I have been spending a ton of time outside…and she discovered bunnies. They’re now our new favorite thing to chase ha. ALSO because of the gorgeous weather, lots of reading has been done outside, including my yearly reread of Good Omens!

READING REPORT In the last weekly wrap-up I was at 57 books read, 20 written by men, 37 written by women! I’m currently at 63 books read for the year, with 42 written by female authors, 21 written by male authors!

WHAT I FINISHED Since the last wrap-up I’ve finished 6 books: Jennifer Laam’s The Secret Daughter of the Tsar was excellent and full of Romanov goodness! I’m still on a mystery kick and decided to give Laura Lippman’s series a try: The Girl in the Green Raincoat was a short novella clocking in at 160 pages that gave me a great introduction to Tess’s character – this one was especially intriguing because she was on bedrest the entire time and had to somehow solve a murder while under doctor’s orders not to move. After that I leapt into the audio of Hush Hush, the next book in the series. Hush Hush was a book I REALLY wanted to read even before reading Raincoat – years ago a woman left her infant in a car on a summer day and took an insanity plea. Now she’s back in town looking to make a documentary. VERY interesting, right? Turns out I was expecting too much. Although it was enjoyable while it lasted, once it was over, I realized I was glad I was done. The story itself wasn’t exactly what I thought it would be and the narrator’s voice for the three-year-old was AWFUL. (plus Carla Scout is the stupidest name ever.) I fell HARD for Jude Deveraux’s The Girl from Summer Hill, a fun, modern take on Pride & Prejudice! My review for this one goes live soon, so keep your eyes peeled! Jessica Brockmole can do no wrong and her upcoming At the Edge of Summer is my second 5-star read of the year. It was that good, guys. DEFINITELY check back for my review of that one next month! Lastly, I know I’m in the minority, but Saga did nothing for me. Gorgeous artwork, but apart from that…

WHAT I’M READING Like I mentioned above, I’m diving back into Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. Love, love, love. One of my all-time favorites! I’m also reading Hannah Dennison’s A Killer Ball at Honeychurch Hall, the third in her Honeychurch Hall Mystery series. I really enjoyed the first two books and am ecstatic to have these characters back in my life! I’m also listening to A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife – psychological thrillers make my heart sing!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? After reading The Girl in the Green Raincoat, I had some thoughts on novellas and side stories. Are they something YOU like reading?? I took a break from books to share a recipe: thai cucumber noodle bowl! CRAZY simple and quick and vegan! The Darkest corners by Kara Thomas was a really good YA Thrillers set just outside Pittsburgh! The testimony of two girls send a men to death row, but years later, one of the girls wonders if they locked away the right man. So, so good. Yesterday I shared my thoughts on Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel. I had a blast with this one and can’t wait for book two!


 

BOUGHT
You by Caroline Kepnes
When a beautiful woman walks into the bookstore where Joe works, he doesn’t think twice before googling the name (Guinevere Beck) on her credit card. Her facebook account is public and she’s constantly tweeting – she’ll be at a particular bar later that night, the perfect ‘chance encounter’ for Joe. Joe slowly becomes more and more obsessed, transforming herself into Beck’s idea of a perfect man and going from stalker to boyfriend. You is said to be super dark and exciting – exactly the kind of story I love! – and with the sequel out, I wanted to get my hands on this one ASAP!

The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block
A young woman is discovered wandering the streets in a catatonic state. No one steps forward to claim her, no one declared her missing, and when psychiatrist Zoe Goldman decides to uncover the girl’s identity once and more all, she gets far more than she bargained for: someone is determined to ensure the girl has no memory of what happened to her. I legit know nothing about this book apart from the summary, but it looked good and sounds great, so I’m hoping for the best!

FOR REVIEW
The Gutsy Girl by Caroline Paul
Middle Grade + Feminism? SOLD! Flipping through it made me think of Keri Smith’s The Wander Society in that there are doodles and notes and places to write your own thoughts and all kinds of fun bits and bobs! Also, I received the loveliest message with this one. Thank you, Bloomsbury!

Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave
I didn’t realize this was out in softcover until it showed up at my door! So many bloggers I know loved this one so I’m beyond excited. A week before her wedding, Georgia discovers a terrible secret her fiance had been keeping from her. She returns home, seeking the comfort of her parents and their vineyard, but things don’t go quite as planned. Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
AAAAHHHHH OMG YES. Ten years ago, Nicolette left home after her best friend disappeared. Now she’s back and events cause the case to be reopened: shortly after Nic returns, a woman pivotal to that night vanishes. This book is told in reverse and is getting some SERIOUS buzz and I cannot wait to start reading!! Thank you, Simon & Schuster!

Wrecked by Maria Padian
Sexual assault on college campuses is very much in the news these days and Wrecked tackles what happens when those involved all have a different story: Richard heard his roommate brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with; Haley was already in bed when her roommate walked in, completely shell-shocked and traumatized. When Jenny accuses Jordan of raping her, the college is thrown headfirst into an investigation that creates two very distinct sides among its students. I’m EXTREMELY curious about this one, especially after some phenomenal early reviews. Also, I’m reminded a little of Wendy Walker’s fantastic All is Not Forgotten. Thank you, Algonquin!

Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt
Set against the Manson murders and the Vietnam War, Cruel Beautiful World tells the story of a young girl who decides to run away with a much older man – and her sister’s decision to uncover the truth. I haven’t read any of Leavitt’s work before, but this one sounded too good to pass up! Thank you, Algonquin!

Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
YESSSSS!! I absolutely devoured Ink and Bone and now the sequel is here! The Library of Alexandria still exists, however, owning books is illegal. Oh, so good. Thank you, NAL!

The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine
“Kate Morton meets Daphne du Maurier” check. A Scottish estate, check. Century-old remains of a murder victim, check. An investigation into the estate’s previous occupants, check. Clearly Ms. Maine wrote this book for me. Thank you, Atria!

Hundred Percent by Karen Romano Young
A Middle Grade novel about a girl’s last year in elementary school and all the changes that brings. ♥ Thank you, Chronicle Books!

5 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up: two week edition!

  1. I need to review Gutsy Girl too– it looks awesome, doesn’t it?!? I love how there are certain things with the ‘DO NOT ACTUALLY TRY THIS’ disclaimer. hahaha I think all ages could dare to take more risks and explore the world and themselves!
    I am officially intrigued by Wrecked– adding it!

Leave a Reply

