The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
Pub. Date: April 19, 2016
Source: ARC + finished copy via publisher (Thank you, Delacorte!)
Summary: There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch. But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.
Genre: YA, Thriller, Contemporary

To say Thillers are my jam would be one of the biggest understatements of the century. Not only have I been on a serious Thriller kick lately, but I even featured the genre in one of my GoodReads Recommends posts! Sinking into a heart-stopping, suspenseful mystery is my ultimate idea of a good time, so when The Darkest Corners arrived at my door one day, it was all I could do not to put everything else on hold just so I could dive in! (Although I ended up reading this one in February – I rarely read books months in advance, so you should already get an idea of where my thoughts on this one will be heading!)

When Tess and Callie were nine years old, they witnessed something they should have never seen. Callie’s older cousin was dead and it was the girls’ testimony that sent Wyatt Stokes to death row. Once the trial ended and the jury convicted Wyatt, Tessa moved away and the former besties ended up drifting apart.

Now, five years later, Tessa is back in Pennsylvania and she has questions, questions that have been with her all these years. What really happened the night Lori was murdered? Tessa and Callie never actually talked about what they saw that night… did they send an innocent man to prison?

HOLY MOLY THIS ONE IS GOOD. Saying anything would be saying too much and I really don’t want to ruin this book so be prepared for a super vague review – sorry! You’re just going to have to trust me on this one.

To be honest, I was a little hesitant going on – could a Young Adult Thriller actually work? Turns out, yes, yes it most certainly can! I was instantly hooked and the pages were basically a blur I was turning them so quickly! Just like Tessa, I needed answers as to what really went on the night Lori lost her life. Let me warn you though: when Kara Thomas finally gives you those answers…hoo boy. Be prepared.

A huge added bonus for me was that The Darkest Corners is set in Fayette, PA, just outside Pittsburgh. I’m very familiar with the towns and places named – even my hometown (a little north of the city) got a shout-out. I know other readers won’t have that personal connection that I did, but I promise not being from the area doesn’t take away from the story at all – this book could be set halfway around the world and I still would have been captivated.

Again with the vagueness, but I really, really don’t want to spoil anything here! The Darkest Corners is a novel to dive into blind. There were turns I did NOT see coming, excellent character development, a fascinating premise, and a resolution that legit made me gasp. If you’re like me and completely obsessed over Making a Murderer and Serial, you’re going to want to read this one! Kara also wrote the Prep School Confidential series and if it’s half as good as The Darkest Corners I need to get my hands on those books now!

3 thoughts on “The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Leave a Reply

