Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 4/10

SADTIMES IN PITTSBURGH winter is back with a vengeance and this girl isn’t happy. Funnily enough, next week it’s supposed to be near 80 so.

↠ I did the most amazing shopping spree last week and everything arrived earlier this week (you can see two of the dresses here and here) – everything was seriously dirt cheap and I was in heaven. …only to later find out the reason for the sale was because the shop is closing. WHY ME

↠ I discovered a new neighbor next door! Gobble gobble.

↠ Reading report! Last week I was at 55 books read for the year, 35 by female author, 20 by male authors. I’m currently at 57 books read and since both were written by ladies, that means the men are still at 20 and the women bumped up to 37!

WHAT I FINISHED Lily Anderson’s The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You is so stinkin’ adorkable with it’s we-hate-each-other-but-we’re-really-in-love trope and, my goodness, all the fandom geekery! Fun, fun, fun. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for the new Sarah Rees Brennan, Tell the Wind and Fire, a novel I DNFed. It’s based on Great Expectations and absolutely nothing happened in the 70 pages I read – it was literally all backstory and infodumps. Super confusing and not at all what I expected from her! :( So bummed out.

WHAT I’M READING It’s all about Jennifer Laam this weekend! I’m thiiis close to the end of The Secret Daughter of the Tsar (and, no surprise, but I’m LOVING it!) and will be jumping into The Tsarina’s Legacy next!

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? Julie McElwain’s A Murder in Time was surprisingly addictive! An FBI agent botches a raid and somehow winds up in 1815 where she’s mistaken for a new maid. There’s a serial killer on the loose and she has to go about solving the case without her 21st century means – super quick and really entertaining! GoodReads Recommends is back! This time I’m highlighting recommendations based on one of my top reads of the year, Black Rabbit Hall! Yesterday I switched things up a bit and turned the blog over to my pup as we unboxed our first BarkBox! ALSO, earlier in the week I was over at The Book Addicts Guide for Brittany’s Book and a Beverage feature!

AND NOW, THE BOOKS!

Flight Patterns by Karen White
No lie, I legit shrieked when I opened this package. I REALLY enjoyed last year’s The Sound of Glass and was thrilled to see she was coming out with a new book. Flight Patterns is about Georgia, an expert on fine china, and how she finds herself returning to the home she left 13 years earlier – a home she swore she’d never see again. I flipped through this one the second I got it and saw the opening chapter is set in the ’40s – YAY DUAL ERAS. ALSO!! Georgia’s grandfather is a beekeeper. I’ve mentioned this a few times but I recently finished my beekeeping course and it’s something I have a huge interest in so this book is SO me. Thank you, NAL!

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
A finished hardback of an ARC I received and read back in February. I love me some thrillers and this one takes place just outside Pittsburgh. When tragedy struck, one girl stayed behind and another left. Now, years later, Tessa has returned to discover her former BFF Callie is a completely different person. With Tessa back – and a boy sitting on death row – the girls realize they never discussed just what they saw that night…was the right person caught? The Darkest Corners is a VERY quick read that I enjoyed! Check back soon for my full review! Thank you, Delacorte!

The Blue Bath by Mary Waters-Sayer
Years ago an art studio in Paris had been witness to a short-lived but passionate affair between a young American and an artist. Now Kat is married with a son and living in London. When she attends the opening of an art gallery, she’s shocked to discover her face lining the walls. Though their relationship is long over, Daniel never stopped painting Kat and with his arrival in London, Kat finds herself drawn back to the past. St. Martin’s gets me. Everything about this book calls out to me and I can’t wait to dive in! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 4/10

Leave a Reply

