Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 3/27

#NationalPuppyDay is a thing and I am THRILLED. Did you spend the day snuggling your pup(s)?? It was a gorgeous, gorgeous Wednesday and we spent the day outside at the park!

NEAT! James Patterson is starting his own line of novellas. It’ll be called BookShots and will feature an array of stories from multiple genres (and even some dealing with current events) that all fall under 150 pages. I actually really like this idea! Patterson is a HUGE supporter of indie stores, childhood literacy, and just books in general and this is his attempt at getting people who don’t normally read to pick up a book. To someone who hasn’t read a book in 20 years, a 400-page novel can definitely seem intimidating, but 150 is far more appealing. The first titles are to launch in June and I’m really excited to see how it goes!

OMGOMG! There’s now a Quentin Blake font! This news brightened my day like you wouldn’t believe ♥

↠ Matt and I love a good documentary and PlantPure Nation was a VERY interesting look into veganism. Back in January I discussed a meat-free challenge we both did (one I’ve continued – almost 5 months now!) A good friend of mine is vegan and I’m constantly in awe of the food and treats she bakes. I don’t know if I’d even be disciplined enough to go full vegan, but I currently use almond milk and only occasionally eat eggs, so! In May Pittsburgh is holding a Vegan Festival and some friends and I are going and I’m beyond excited!

↠ Last week I had 46 books read, 30 from female authors, 16 from male authors. I’m currently at 52 books read, with 34 of those written by females, 18 by males!

WHAT I FINISHED: I finished the last of the comics I grabbed from my big library haul, Thor/Loki: Blood Brothers. I also finished my very first Harlan Coben, Fool Me Once (look below for the review!) and really, REALLY enjoyed it! Unfortunately, Will You Won’t You Want Me?, Nora Zelevansky’s upcoming novel, was a DNF. I read bits here and there over the course of a few weeks and never fully got into it – the main character also had something to do with that. Check back TOMORROW for a super fun giveaway for Keri Smith’s newest, The Wander Society! I can now say I’ve read a Colleen Hoover – I finished the audio of Confess. It was an extremely quick read and I can certainly see why so many people adore her novels. Lastly, I tore through Mary Kubica’s upcoming Don’t You Cry. This one doesn’t come out until May, so you’ll have to wait a little while longer for my thoughts but OH MAN it was good.

WHAT I’M READING: I’m currently battling a horrible flu so I took it easy this week. I decided to get through a classic and found a wonderful audiobook for Thomas Hardy’s Far From the Madding Crowd. I don’t know if it’s the narrator or what, but I’m absolutely overjoyed with how this one is going! I’m only 27% done, so I’ve still got a pretty big chunk of the book ahead of me, but I’m happily looking forward to it! In print, I’m reading Julie McElwain’s debut, A Murder in Time, and, again, am pleasantly surprised by how much I’m liking it. This one can definitely come off as hokey: an FBI agent gets shot on a mission and finds herself transported back in time to 1815, but it’s actually really fun! I wasn’t sure what to expect in the beginning (it took a while to really get things going) but I’m absolutely hooked now and will be sad to say goodbye.

MISSED SOMETHING THIS WEEK? I fell hard for Melissa Keil’s The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl, an Aussie coming-of-age novel set in a tiny little town that’s predicted to be the sole survivor of the apocalypse. And I basically fangirled all over my review of Harlan Coben’s Fool Me Oncedefinitely going to be reading more of his work!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 3/27

Leave a Reply

