Uncategorized

4 totally binge worthy shows

I’m not a big fan of television. There are shows I love, but I’m not someone who does marathons or is always up to date on the newest, shiniest episodes of whatever is ~cool~ right now.

HOWEVER! During my vacation last month I was in the mood to binge-watch something…which turned into 3.5 somethings!

These can all be watched FOR FREE with Amazon Prime!


POLDARK (2015- )
Period Drama, Romance

GIVE ME THE SCOOP! After the American Revolution, Ross Poldark returns home to discover things aren’t quite how he left it. For starters, his beloved is betrothed to another – his cousin. His father has passed, the family mine has shut down. Determined to start again, Ross plans a risky new business venture and meets some rather interesting people along the way.

The one that started it all. Poldark was our tv pick for #BookClubFix and so I was pretty much forced into watching it – but oh what a wonderful, wonderful time I had. Originally based on a series by Winston Graham, it’s been adapted several times throughout the years, but this latest remake it definitely something to be seen (Aidan Turner’s multiple shirtless scenes might have something to do with that..!

Really though, this one is GOOD and the cast is fantastic. The good guys make you want to cheer, my tiny Grinch heart burst to the seams with the romance that blossomed between Ross and a woman he saves, and the baddies were just so incredibly vile and smarmy. Perfect, perfect, perfect.


THE MISSING (2014- )
Drama, Mystery

GIVE ME THE SCOOP! A holiday in France turns into a nightmare when a couple’s 5-year-old son goes missing. Eight years (and one divorce) later, Tony is still obsessed with finding his child and he’s convinced Oliver is still alive.

I’m a HUGE James Nesbitt fan and a few years ago I heard about this show and of course completely forgot to keep an eye out. Prime’s got my back, though! I was randomly browsing through shows to watch and since I’ve been on a mystery/thriller kick lately, I was immediately intrigued by the premise of this one…it wasn’t until I actually started watching it that I realized THIS IS THE SHOW. ty prime ♥

I tore through all eight episodes in a day (seriously, that is UNHEARD OF for me) and that ending – holy moly. Thankfully the second season is being filmed and I think it’ll be out this year!


SECRETS & LIES (2014)
Drama, Mystery

GIVE ME THE SCOOP! On an early morning run, a man discovers the body of a child and turns their quiet community upside down…especially once he’s named the prime suspect.

This Australian mini-series (six episodes!) received an American remake starring Ryan Phillippe and Juliette Lewis, but it’s the original that had me hooked. Martin Henderson plays Ben Gundelach, a painter whose already-shaky marriage is torn apart once the police start asking questions. This one is a bit over-the-top at times and the dramatics can be a bit campy, but at only six episodes, it’s the perfect way to spend an afternoon and really, really fun. I was watching it on our tablet and Matt ended up watching the whole thing with me (watching with a snarky buddy makes it even more fun!)


FORTITUDE (2015- )
Drama, Mystery, Horror

GIVE ME THE SCOOP! Hidden away in the Arctic Circle, Fortitude is one of the safest towns on Earth. Until the day it isn’t.

O. M. G. This one has been on my watchlist for a while and I kept bouncing back and forth between whether or not I wanted to watch it. YOU WANT TO WATCH IT. TRUST ME. Not only are there amazing actors (Michael Gambon! Christopher Eccleston! STANLEY TUCCI!!) but the show itself is great. There has never been a murder in Fortitude and it’s actually illegal to die and be buried there (because of the permafrost, bodies can’t decompose – there are bodies beneath the ice that still contain the plague) but all that changes one day. Curiously enough, the murder happens just after the remains of a mammoth are discovered – could they be linked???

So this is where the 3.5 shows comes in. I’m only halfway through this one but WOW I knew I wanted to include it. TUCCI! MAMMOTHS! MURDER!

5 thoughts on “4 totally binge worthy shows

  1. Poldark!!! I totally binge-watched that last year when I checked it out and was soon hooked. And then I looked up when the 2nd season would be and was like, “Are you KIDDING ME???” when I realized we’d have to wait until fall 2016 for more episodes :/ It still feels too far away!

Leave a Reply

