Uncategorized

recently added.

It’s that time again! Let’s take a peek into my shelves and see what I’ve recently discovered (and added to my ever-growing list SOB)

OUT NOW!

Angela: Asgard’s Assassin by Kieron Gillen

I recently talked about my rekindled love of comics, especially superheros! I’m on a massive Marvel binge right now (currently devouring multiple Thor and Loki series!) and Loki: Agent of Asgard made a ton of references to other series and past issues – the perfect way to decide what to read next! Angela was mentioned and it was a total no-brainer: Thor’s sister. Cast out of her home and wants nothing to do with the Asgardians…but she has something they want.

Fun fact: her character was originally created by Neil Gaiman!

Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh by John Lahr

I love a good doorstop of a book and I love tackling new topics. Clocking in at just under 800 pages this biography of Tennessee Williams sounds absolutely perfect! Apart from his name and the titles of a handful of his more well-known plays, I know virtually nothing about this man who “reshaped the American theater and the nation’s sense of itself.” Just from the summary alone it seems Mr. Williams was no stranger to a good scandal: from his sexuality to his misreported death (!!) and I can’t wait to savor this one!

Fiercombe Manor by Kate Riordan

First of all, I don’t think there’s any relation to that other Riordan, but I could be wrong! Second, Fiercombe Manor is the US title – in the UK it was published as The Girl in the Photograph.

Recently a good friend and I were talking about older books we randomly came across and loved and she mentioned this one. The minute she told me about it I knew it was one I needed to read: it’s likened to Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, the dual-era storyline takes place in the 1890s and 1930s, there’s an English manor at the very heart of the story, and secrets abound! A total Leah read.

COMING SOON!

The Girl from Summer Hill by Jude Deveraux | May 3, 2016

Okay, so sliiightly cheating here, since earlier in the week I snagged an ARC, but still! I’m a total newbie to Deveraux’s work, though after working in a bookstore for many years I’m very familiar with her books – and she has a TON. She’s been writing since the mid 70s, guys.

I mentioned in my Wild Wood review that I love retellings and reimagings, yet I rarely read the source material. That couldn’t be truer here: I have never read Jane Austen. Don’t hurt me!! The Girl from Summer Hill is a contemporary set in the mountains of Virginia and is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice. I’m super excited for this one – and it’ll be the perfect read now that it’s getting a little warmer around here!

Leaving Lucy Pear by Anna Solomon | July 26, 2016

In the middle of the night in 1917, a girl (the daughter of a wealthy Jewish Industrialist merchant) sneaks out of the house to leave her newborn baby by a tree and watches as another woman takes the baby as her own. Ten years later, amid Prohibition and the aftermath of WWI, she returns home seeking refuge, only to be inadvertently reunited with the woman who raised her child. Even as a little girl Lucy Pear is bright and bold (and prefers boys’ clothes) and she’s got some secrets of her own.

Side note: I’m totally adding Lucy Pear to my list of Potential Baby Names That Leah Loves And Matt Hates!

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee | July 26, 2016

A debut about conjoined twins is all I needed to know before this one caught my eye. I have a feeling it’ll be a real heartbreaker, though: after living in their hometown for the past 17 years, Clara and Hailey are no longer greeted with stares and questions. But with high school coming to an end, the girls have some huge decisions to make: Clara wants nothing more than to stay home and study the stars. Hailey, however, wants to travel the world and meet mysterious boys.

6 thoughts on “recently added.

Leave a Reply

