weekly wrap-up 3/13


↠ This week was completely uneventful and quiet – yay! – with gorgeous, gorgeous weather, so Bay and I spent lots of time at the park!

STEPHEN KING IS COMING TO MY TOWN! My local indie, Penguin Bookshop, announced this week that they were chosen as one of the 12 indie stops on his End of Watch tour! ALSO, Neil Gaiman announced on facebook that his coloring book (!!!) will only be available in select indie shops – and Penguin is one of them!

↠ Since seeing Deadpool last month I’ve gotten back into comics, especially superhero titles. Unfortunately, like I mentioned last week, this really skews my reading stats. Currently I’m at 39 books read, with 28 written by women, 11 by men. I need to find some lady writers!

↠ Four of the books I read this week were volumes of Chew, a completely insane (but oh so fun) comic series about Tony Chu, a Cibopath. He’s able to get a psychic impression from whatever he eats and with his job as an FDA agent (in a world where chicken is outlawed and only exists on the black market) his ability comes in handy…apart from, you know, munching on corpses. I also devoured (ha!) Rosamund Lupton’s The Quality of Silence and holy moly it was good. Keep an eye out for my review over the next few days! I’m about halfway through Wendy Walker’s upcoming All is Not Forgotten and am absolutely hooked! In a picture perfect highbrow neighborhood, the unthinking happens: a girl is raped. Her parents make the decision to give her a highly controversial drug that will erase her memories of the horrific assault, but while her physical wounds heal, the emotional damage is still there. This one doesn’t come out until July, but I was so excited I couldn’t hold off any longer! I also just started The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil, a novel that’s won a ton of awards in Australia and now it’s being published in the US! This one is really neat so far – it’s a mix of novel and comic! AND I have an audio going as well – M.J. Arlidge’s Eeny Meeny because I love me some psychological thrillers!

Missed something this week? Riley Redgate’s debut, Seven Ways We Lie, could have been a great read – a rumored teacher/student relationship turns a high school upside down as everyone’s trying to point fingers – but it turned into a checklist of every teen issue Redgate could cram within the book’s pages: abandonment, divorce, teacher/student relationship, drugs, sex, coming to terms with your sexuality (or asexuality in one character,) underage drinking (including being the supplier at school and an alcohol poisoning subplot,) sibling and family dynamic, social status, etc etc. Yawn. I also recapped February which included dog bakeries, Baylor’s birthday party, a top read of the year, and some backlist love!

FROM THE LIBRARY
COMICS: Thor/Loki: Blood Brothers by Robert Rodi, Loki: Agent of Asgard volumes 1-3 by Al Ewing, and Thor: Who Holds the Hammer by Jason Aaron (this is the female Thor series!)

The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters
I mentioned this one in my 10 UPCOMING NOVELS I NEED TO GET MY HANDS ON post and yay it’s here! This one is a reimagining of Hamlet that takes place in 1920s Oregon.

FOR REVIEW
Children of Earth and Sky by Guy Gavriel Kay
A historical fantasy inspired by Renaissance Europe! There’s a coastal town notorious for its pirates and a young women sets out seeking vengeance. There’s a spy (posing as a doctor’s wife) and a young artist traveling to the dangerous east. I’ve never read any of Kay’s work before, but I know he’s super popular and I was having a really terrible day when this one showed up at my door – it definitely turned my day around! Thank you, NAL!

Paris is Always a Good Idea by Nicolas Barreau
Yes. Yes it is. This one sounds absolutely lovely: the owner of a postcard shop specializes in ‘wishing cards,’ and the day an elderly man comes into her shop, it seems as though her wish finally came true. The man is a famous children’s book author and he’s come to ask Rosalie if she would illustrate his latest (and possibly last) book. But when an American professor arrives at her door and tears into her with accusations of plagiarism, Rosalie begins to wonder just what lies in store for her. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

Death Sits Down to Dinner by Tessa Arlen
This is the second novel in the Lady Montfort Edwardian mystery series. I was sent a copy of the first book, Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman last year but never got around to it – eep! Perhaps a binge-read of both? I adore cozy mysteries and this series sounds like it would be PERFECT for me – Winston Churchill is featured in this one! Thank you, Minotaur!

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/13

Leave a Reply

