Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/28


↠ MAJOR SAD FACE my vacation is almost over nooo! I took off the month of February (hahahaha winter driving nope) and Tuesday I go back to work and I’m not ready :(↠ ALERT ALERT cinnamon bun Oreos are a thing you’re welcome

↠ I’ve become obsessed with power bowls and lately I’ve been all about avocados. Recently I made the most amazing lunch ever and it’s super simple: some rice, sliced avocado, a fried egg, salsa, a drizzle of sriracha and YUM.

↠ On Wednesday we had our very first #BookClubFix chat where we discussed The Violinist of Venice AND Poldark! It was SO much fun and went way better than I had expected (naturally I assume everything will be a total failure) so I’m thrilled. We chose our next read and watch: Lyndsay Faye’s Jane Steele (I’ve mentioned it a few times…and by a few I mean I’ve been going crazy for it) and we’ll be watching the first season of Reign! We also have a GoodReads group so please feel free to join! ALSO our next #HistoricalFix chat will be April 24 where we’ll be chatting about biographical fiction aka historical fiction that uses real people and the lovely Michelle Gable will be joining us! (You do NOT want to miss the giveaway – both of her novels!)

↠ Have you been binge-watching anything lately? I’m typically not the kind of girl to binge on a show, but I think Poldark broke me. Since last week I’ve binged on two other shows and keep an eye out because I’ll be posting about them soon!

↠ If nothing else, my vacation killed by TBR list. HA not really, but it put a nice little dent in it! I’m currently at 29 books read so far this year (halfway through books 30 and 31 as I’m typing this!) and am delighted to say 24 are written by women while 5 are by men. Books 30 and 31 are both by women as well!

↠ Speaking of books, I knocked out four this week: Karen Cushman’s upcoming Grayling’s Song, Alyssa Palombo’s The Violinist of Venice, Mark Tompkin’s upcoming The Last Days of Magic (the review goes live next week!) and Heather Gudenkauf’s Little Lies, a short story that sets the tone for Little Mercies which I immediately grabbed from my library! I’m currently reading Lisa Gardner’s Crash & Burn, a psychological thriller about a woman who survives a terrible car crash and insists a little girl, Vero, is missing…only her husband (who she doesn’t remember) claims the girl doesn’t exist. I powered through a good chunk of this one last night and it’s GOOD. I originally got this from netgalley last year and let it expire eep. Same with my current audiobook, Susan Crandall’s The Flying Circus.

Missed something this week? I participated in the blog tour for Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s The Smell of Other People’s Houses, a YA set in Alaska in the 70s; I did a round-up of February’s unreviewed books; and shared two mini-reviews: the extremely polarizing Into the Dim and a literary scavenger hunt, The Madwoman Upstairs.

↠ I’m pretty excited about the books I received this week! From Bloomsbury I received Emma Geen’s debut, The Many Selves of Katherine North, a New Adult novel for fans of The Bone Season and Station Eleven. In the near future certain people are able to project their minds into animals – “When we first meet Kit, she’s a fox.” – and naturally, the corporation Kit works for might be hiding some ominous secrets..! From DAW I received Tanya Huff’s Wizard of the Grove omnibus. I’ve been on a fantasy kick lately so I’m definitely looking forward to this one!

And from netgalley, I grabbed some AMAZING books that I can’t wait to start!

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand
I love Claire’s novels and couldn’t be more excited about this one! A little girl with depression who creates a magical forest kingdom in her notebook. Her parents are constantly fighting and she’s sent to her grandparents’ house for the summer…where she discovers her made-up kingdom is actually real. Thank you, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers!

June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
SO many bloggers I love absolutely adored her novel Bittersweet, so the moment I saw she had a new one coming out, I didn’t hesitate for a second before requesting it. This one is pitched as “a novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake made sixty years ago that threatens to change a modern family forever.” YES. Thank you, Crown!

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
A fantasy novel inspired by Indian mythology. Aaaand sold. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 2/28

Leave a Reply

