Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/14


↠ ♥ Today is Bay’s birthday! My sweet girl is two today and last night we had a joint party for her and my niece (whose birthday was last week) and with that the February birthday extravaganza is wrapped up! Despite the so over this look on her face (we were singing happy birthday to her when Matt took that picture ha!) I think she had so much fun – the second everyone left her eyelids started drooping and within minutes it was lights out. The cake is from a new dog bakery that recently opened in town, Three Dog Bakery!

↠ It was also our 6-month adoptionversary this week ♥

↠ Y’all have heard me go on and on about my love for my local juice bar, right? They occasionally do limited edition flavors for holidays (during the fall they had an amazing pecan pie smoothie omg) and for Valentine’s Day they came out with a Heartbeet smoothie. Beets, strawberries, bananas, all kinds of yummy goodness!

VACATION HAS OFFICIALLY STARTED! Thursday was my last day and I’m freeee until March! I’m planning on getting all the reading done and so far I’m off to a good start: Tom’s Midnight Garden was the perfect comfort read during a chilly day spent sick in bed. This one came out in the 50s (I love me some good old-fashioned stories!) and tells the story of a boy who discovers a magical garden when the clock strikes 13. I also read Annabel Lee, a thriller inspired by Poe (yay!) but it had some pretty glaring faults. Keep an eye out for these reviews soon!

#BookClubFix is now on goodreads! Head here if you missed the announcement about our #HistoricalFix book club! Our first chat will be February 24 where we’ll be discussing The Violinist of Venice by Alyssa Palombo. We’re also watching Poldark!

Missed it this week? Between planning Bay’s party and being sick I didn’t get much posted, but the one review that went live was SUCH a good one: Eve Chase’s Black Rabbit Hall is hands down a top read of 2016. I’ve been gushing over this one since November and now that it’s out I’m only going to flail over it more!


Nowhere Girl by Susan Strecker
I received this one as an ARC a while back but this finished copy is a beaut! Two sisters – twins – are ripped apart as teens when one tragically dies. Years later Cady is now a bestselling author of murder mysteries, but there’s one mystery that she’s still hoping to solve: what happened to Savannah? My review for this one will go live March 1, so check back for the answer! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins
An epic novel of magic and mysticism, Celts and faeries, mad kings and druids, and the goddess struggling to reign over magic’s last outpost on the Earth. Yep. This has my name written all over it! Thank you, Viking!

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
I hate giving in to comparisons, but Serial was mentioned and holllly yes. Also, if the Fayette, PA is the same one I’m thinking of, this book takes place VERY close to where I work, so bonus points! Bad Things happened to two little girls when they were 9. Tessa left town and tried to put everything behind her; Callie is still living where it all went down. Lies, a dead cousin, a man on death row – I am very curious about this one! Thank you, Delacorte!

The Only Thing Worse than Me is You by Lily Anderson
A few weeks ago I grabbed this one from netgalley, but I’m thrilled to have a physical copy! Geekery, fandoms, nerdy romance. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 2/14

  1. had fun at baylor and ava’s birthday party. you and matt are fun to be around. hope to see you soon. be ready to plant your fruit tree. love you both, bup

Leave a Reply

