backlist bump: 5 recent additions to the TBR pile!

I love older books. Love them. (In fact, I might enjoy finding a good under-the-radar book a teensy bit more than buzzing over a new release!) There’s nothing like browsing through library or bookstore shelves and coming across a book slightly past its prime – I’ve discovered more than one favorite this way (remember my love for Glow?)

Here are 5 older titles I’ve recently come across and have added to my ever-growing TBR pile!

The Case of the Missing Moonstone by Jordan Stratford | 2015

I guess a book that came out last year technically qualifies as an older title..? Katie recently brought this one to my attention and I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of it before! MARY SHELLEY and ADA LOVELACE are two girls who form a secret detective agency. UM YES PLEASE. There’s science and history – and obviously a killer dose of mystery – and it’s pitched as being for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and A Series of Unfortunate Events although I think it sounds pretty fantastic all on its own! Moonstone clearly gives some love to Wilkie Collins and the sequel, The Case of the Girl in Grey pays homage to his The Woman in White.

SEE ALSO: Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen | 2007

After a year or so of a slump, I’ve finally gotten back into the cozy mystery game – I’m sure you’ve noticed my recent obsessions with all things Agatha Christie! Her Royal Spyness is a series I’ve come across time and again and have always been curious: London, 1932. Lady Victoria is 34th in line for the throne and has recently fled Scotland and a terrible engagement and is now completely broke. She receives a summons from the Queen to spy on her son and a dead Frenchman winds up in the bathtub. There are currently ten books in this series and I think they sound like fun!

SEE ALSO: Dying in the Wool by Frances Brody

Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith | 2009

WWII-era fiction (and wartime novels in general) make my heart sing. Flygirl takes it a step further: In order to follow in her daddy’s footsteps and become a pilot, Ida Mae must make the decision on whether or not she wants to lie about her heritage and pass as white – the WASP will only accept white women into their training program. Does following her dreams of becoming a pilot and helping her brother in the Pacific mean denying who she is?

SEE ALSO: The Chaos by Nalo Hopkinson

The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway | 2013

It seems that lately time travel has seen an uprising. I don’t know if it’s all due to Outlander‘s recent resurgence in popularity or what, but it’s here and I’m a fan! My current read (Wild Wood) has some time travel elements without going 100% in, but The River of No Return doesn’t play around: just as he is about to die on a Napoleonic battlefield, Lord Nicholas Falcott wakes up in the present day. There’s a secret fraternity of time travelers who break the disappointing news that he can’t go back and his beloved Julia will forever be in 1815. ..until the day comes when The Guild breaks the rules.

SEE ALSO: Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati (Jamie and Claire are actually mentioned in this one!)

The Winter Price by Elizabeth Wein | 1993

Yep, that Elizabeth Wein. Before the days of Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire, there was the Lion Hunters series, a five-book saga loosely based on King Arthur! The would-be heir loses the title of prince of Britain to his younger half-brother (a fragile, sickly boy who’s still afraid of the dark.) Jealous and angry, Medraut leaves his family to join the king’s sister in a powerful plot to take back the kingdom. But when it comes down to it, Medraut has to decide just where his allegiance truly lies. I’ve recently fallen hard for old school fantasy and I can definitely see myself binging on this series!

SEE ALSO: Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

What are some of YOUR favorite backlist titles? Have you recently discovered any hidden gems?? Let me know!
7 thoughts on “backlist bump: 5 recent additions to the TBR pile!

Leave a Reply

